Cd Player - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-12-2004, 05:42 PM
my car is red
 
94BMW325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 5,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to 94BMW325i Send a message via Yahoo to 94BMW325i
(Thread Starter)
I just got a 94325i and i'm trying to get the 6 disc cd changer to work. When I click band on the headunit to change it to disc mode it says error, how do I put cd's into the changer? I'm not sure if error means it has no cd's in it or if the changer is broken?

all help appreciated!



used




member and partial creator of pimpin the auto club
94BMW325i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-12-2004, 06:17 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cannon00000 is an unknown quantity at this point
It will say error if there isnt a CD in the number you are pressing. Open the trunk, slide the front cover on the CD player to the right. Press eject. Then simply fill the magazine with some good old country music. Sit back and enjoy!
Cannon00000 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-12-2004, 06:21 PM
1st Gear Member
 
abemcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
abemcclellan is an unknown quantity at this point
yeah and change the stereo to like 88.3 fm. thats how mine works.
abemcclellan is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-12-2004, 06:47 PM
my car is red
 
94BMW325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 5,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of 94BMW325i has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to 94BMW325i Send a message via Yahoo to 94BMW325i
(Thread Starter)
I press eject and it just makes a noise it doesn't actually eject.




member and partial creator of pimpin the auto club
94BMW325i is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-13-2004, 01:51 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Quote:
Originally posted by abemcclellan@Dec 12 2004, 06:21 PM
yeah and change the stereo to like 88.3 fm. thats how mine works.
[snapback]248709[/snapback]
Do you know if you have an FM modulator? That is pretty common nowadays. If you do, please let me know what kind of sound quality you are getting. I want to get CD capabilities but I do not want to drop the cash for a BMW cd radio or the BMW cd changer.

drz is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 12-13-2004, 02:53 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
mmzcee is an unknown quantity at this point
well factory cd changers are hardwired into the headunit, thats how mine works..

you probably have a faulty cd changer unit, might as well buy an aftermarket headunit with mp3 function, you can fit about 6 cds of music onto one cd...

but seeing how my bimmer came with the cd changer, I don't see any good in getting a new HU now...might as well stay OEM.

<img src="http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-12/559882/1.jpg ">
Get sideways.
Real cars have 3 pedals.
mmzcee is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 12-13-2004, 01:50 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
funtoos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
funtoos is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to funtoos
from my experience, when u hit the band button and get an error code, it prolly means that your changer is broken or not connected properly... if the eject button does not eject the cartridge, you can do it manually... just slide in a credit card uneder the eject button on the changer... that should do it... thas how i pulled mine out...
good luck..

'04 330Ci
'00 Kawasaki ZX9-R

Now looking for an M3
funtoos is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 12-13-2004, 07:42 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kurantt is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by 94BMW325i@Dec 12 2004, 04:42 PM
I just got a 94325i and i'm trying to get the 6 disc cd changer to work. When I click band on the headunit to change it to disc mode it says error, how do I put cd's into the changer? I'm not sure if error means it has no cd's in it or if the changer is broken?

all help appreciated!



used


[snapback]248694[/snapback]
Kurantt is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 12-13-2004, 07:43 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kurantt is an unknown quantity at this point
Yea, the changer is broke, I work on those units.

WWW.sound-repair.com
Kurantt is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 12-15-2004, 07:28 PM
n00b
 
motown3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
motown3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Mine would never change to CD, would just roll from FM to AM to FM to AM.. Made me really mad. Spent about 3 hours tracing cabling. Went to Circuit City, had them check the Changer, it was good. Got a new head unit with MP3. Problem solved. Have the Pioneer for the trunk still. Got to get it on Ebay soon.

"Friends may come and go, but enemies accumulate"
motown3 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 12-15-2004, 07:34 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
thekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson MS
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute thekid has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally posted by motown3@Dec 15 2004, 06:28 PM
Mine would never change to CD, would just roll from FM to AM to FM to AM.. Made me really mad. Spent about 3 hours tracing cabling. Went to Circuit City, had them check the Changer, it was good. Got a new head unit with MP3. Problem solved. Have the Pioneer for the trunk still. Got to get it on Ebay soon.
[snapback]251645[/snapback]
sounds like you got the wrong cd changer. There are two modles 92-95 and 96+ for the E36. They changed the bus link in 96, so you have to make sure you get a model from the right year.
thekid is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 12-15-2004, 07:57 PM
n00b
 
motown3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
motown3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by thekid+Dec 15 2004, 07:34 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(thekid @ Dec 15 2004, 07:34 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-motown3@Dec 15 2004, 06:28 PM
Mine would never change to CD, would just roll from FM to AM to FM to AM.. Made me really mad.* Spent about 3 hours tracing cabling.* Went to Circuit City, had them check the Changer, it was good.* Got a new head unit with MP3.* Problem solved.* Have the Pioneer for the trunk still.* Got to get it on Ebay soon.
[snapback]251645[/snapback]
sounds like you got the wrong cd changer. There are two modles 92-95 and 96+ for the E36. They changed the bus link in 96, so you have to make sure you get a model from the right year.
[snapback]251648[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


Changer did work for 5 years. Just quit showing up as CD. Wanted to punch the dash.

&quot;Friends may come and go, but enemies accumulate&quot;
motown3 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2004, 08:01 PM
n00b
 
motown3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
motown3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by thekid+Dec 15 2004, 07:34 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(thekid @ Dec 15 2004, 07:34 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-motown3@Dec 15 2004, 06:28 PM
Mine would never change to CD, would just roll from FM to AM to FM to AM.. Made me really mad.* Spent about 3 hours tracing cabling.* Went to Circuit City, had them check the Changer, it was good.* Got a new head unit with MP3.* Problem solved.* Have the Pioneer for the trunk still.* Got to get it on Ebay soon.
[snapback]251645[/snapback]
sounds like you got the wrong cd changer. There are two modles 92-95 and 96+ for the E36. They changed the bus link in 96, so you have to make sure you get a model from the right year.
[snapback]251648[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


Changer did work for 5 years. Just quit showing up as CD. Wanted to punch the dash.

&quot;Friends may come and go, but enemies accumulate&quot;
motown3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What After Market Cd Player For Bmw 330ci 2001 jontreacle Audio and Electronics 3 01-14-2005 09:51 AM
Vdo Cd Player Opinion Sought motel_king 3-Series (E21, E30) 3 11-24-2004 04:21 PM
Cd Player Change In E36. (pictures Inside) Osiriz Audio and Electronics 2 11-02-2004 05:07 PM
Factory BMW CD Player EuroBeem Audio and Electronics 1 06-08-2004 06:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome