Can't get instrument cluster out ;-( - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 01:26 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
TimmyP1955 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to TimmyP1955
(Thread Starter)
Can't get instrument cluster out ;-(

1997 328i-4. I got it to pop out from the dash (had to reach in through the radio/ACC hole). But as the car does not have a tilt wheel, I cannot get the cluster out far enough that I can see the connectors to figure out how to unlatch them (I've been unable to do it by feel). Help! (The cluster has the dark odometer problem.)
TimmyP1955 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 02:59 PM
Neutral Member
 
martyyyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Skopje, Macedonia
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
martyyyn is on a distinguished road
If you turn the wheel you should be able to slide out the cluster,

Cheers Martin

martyyyn is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 03:02 PM
Neutral Member
 
martyyyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Skopje, Macedonia
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
martyyyn is on a distinguished road
Here is a good how to, its for a white dial kit, but has some good picks ref cluster removal

How To BMW


Cheers Martin

martyyyn is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 01:40 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PFON is on a distinguished road
wow, that was pretty cool...and very detailed!
do you also happen to know which of the plugs in the back of the cluster is for the mileage? I just installed a cluster purchased from someone back east and the mileage is lower than mine was. Is there an eprom or plug on the back that is specific to this that I can take out of the old one and put into the used one I just installed? Also, while I'm asking....the guy who sold me the gauge apparently had an automatic and I have a 5 speed....so the transmission light is staying on. Any good fix? thanx
PFON is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Cluster? acid86 3-Series (E36) 3 12-17-2008 04:46 AM
Instrument cluster help triniskunt 3-Series (E21, E30) 14 10-11-2007 03:50 PM
M3 instrument cluster nobrakese36 3-Series (E36) 6 01-05-2006 02:32 AM
Instrument cluster sp0rky 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 13 02-06-2004 12:52 PM
Instrument Cluster mdamani 3-Series (E46, E90) 5 10-02-2003 08:39 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome