A/C question 328 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 11:07 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kholt is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
A/C question 328

hi people,

so last summer the a/c stopped being cold. i followed advice of previous posts and recharged myself to the recommended pressure (it took less than one tall can) using pressure gauge that came with the can. got cold air for a while but then stopped again maybe 1 week later. the port (the one towards the windshield end of engine) where i added the freon still has high pressure, but the port at the other end has little pressure.

Is it possible I need to put more freon in the system? As I understand, if I overcharge that may cause damage. I would think if I have a leak, there wouldn't be pressure at the input port.

thanks
kholt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 11:25 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
It would seem there is a small leak that needs to be fixed.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 11:40 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kholt is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
thanks, but why is the pressure high? if a small leak, shouldn't the pressure drop and it would take more gas? if i add more gas, it seems the pressure will go too high above the recommended pressure.
kholt is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 11:57 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
I really dunno about the pressure difference. But I think the system needs to be tested and serviced rather than simply adding refrigerant.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 12:09 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
you have 2 ports in an A/C system.. a high pressure port(up to 250psi); and the low side port(around 25-40psi) depending on how much freon is in your system, and depending on how efficient your compressor is.

If you have lost freon and need to re-charge, it simply means that you have a system leak somewhere. Knowing that, a "re-charge will only give u a temp remedy - it being that when u have a leak, air/moisture also seeps into the system thereby making your system inefficient(freon and air/mosture don't like each other).

ood way to do your repair. Have your system vacuumed(old freon evacuated) and then recharge to specs using the newer R134a freon cans that contain a "stop leak" solution, and a dye tht can help u identify where the leak might be at a future time :-)
darkhorse737 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 01:17 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kholt is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
thanks again.

i don't know much about this subject. i don't see anything in my bentley manual in regards to ports and pressures.

Am I supposed to refill at the high pressure port or low (i was told high and fill to about 35 psi, which sounds wrong based on what darkhorse said)?

From what I've heard, the system needs to recharged periodically even without an actual leak (in other words, even a sealed A/C system has expected normal leakage over time). True/false?
kholt is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 01:40 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
low side pressure port( the blue covered port) should have read around 35psi.

From what I've heard, the system needs to recharged periodically even without an actual leak (in other words, even a sealed A/C system has expected normal leakage over time). True/false? <<< FALSE. You look at A/C in much the same way as your house refrigerator. If we go by what you heard, the it means tht we have to recharge our refs periodically??? tht doesn't sound right does it?... considering that A/C and refrigeration operate based exactly the same principles :-)
darkhorse737 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 01:51 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
kholt is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
thanks for your time darkhorse

so where should freon be added - low or high pressure port?
kholt is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 01:59 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
always the LOW side for charging. In 134a systems, that would be the smaller of the ports, or the one that has the BLUE cover.

TIP: the HIGH side port is used only for testing efficiency of the compressor
darkhorse737 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B's 328 B_w. Picture Showroom 10 05-23-2005 01:06 PM
'96 328 Harman Kardon System Question, gfowler Audio and Electronics 3 03-11-2005 09:13 PM
328 is DeefNDorf 3-Series (E36) 3 05-18-2004 06:25 PM
my new 328 IS john_18 3-Series (E36) 2 04-09-2004 01:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome