BMW Werkz banner

Buying 1997 Bmw 318i - Need Your Help!

13K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Cruzin 323is 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am new to this and require your insight. I currently drive a Honda Accord and looking at a BMW to drive for couple of years. I went to check one out, 1997 BMW 318 I, auto (which I do not mind and do not plan to race as well as I will only put about 12-15k KM a year). This car has 183,000 KM (115,000 miles)

It is very well maintained, no scratches no accidents and no dents. It also runs very well and was surprised. The suspension seems good, the engine runs really well, the AC is ice cold and the seller did state they did correct couple things in the past 4-5 months.

Premium gas was used and oil change was done every 7k (instead of the required 16k) using synthetic oil (in which they use for Ferraris and other high end sports cars - forgot the name, but starts with M).

He is asking for $9000 CAD ($7300 USD), however the brakes need to be done which he would do for an extra $250 (yes he’s a mechanic - hope I’m not being hustled but its private sale as his mother replaced it for another car) and will require 4 new good tires.

So I require your suggestion if its worth buying this car or will I run into any major issues once it hits about 200,000 KM? Or are there other issues I should be concerned with a 1997 318 I with that many KMs? You insight is very helpful. The car is very well maintained compared to some other BMW’s from 95-96 I seen.

BTW, the only issue I did notice was the airbag light shows up on the dashboard and the LCD blinks a bit where the climate temperature is (he states it might be a loose plug)

Thanks,

See less See more
#2 ·