Built-in Code Reading Sytem - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2004, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
abemcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Car:
Posts: 263
Photos:
abemcclellan is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up

Pelican Technical Article Diagnostic Reader What i am talking about starts in the 4th paragraph. i tried it and did exactly what it said and it didn't work for me. maybe i'm doing something wrong. please read and tell me what you think. Help is appreciated. -Thanks
abemcclellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2004, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Car:
Posts: 756
Photos:
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
maybe you have no fault codes
__________________
Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
abemcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Car:
Posts: 263
Photos:
abemcclellan is an unknown quantity at this point
shiiiiiiiiiit. i forgot. i dont have any. but i thought i light is still suppose to come on even if you don't have any?
abemcclellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: oklahoma city
Car:
Posts: 174
Photos:
325is1994 is an unknown quantity at this point
ive tried that to and it didnt work for me, and my check engine light is on, does autozone give free fault code readings
__________________
<a href='http://img136.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img136&image=bmwcopy3kb.gif' target='_blank'><img src='http://img136.exs.cx:81/img136/8032/bmwcopy3kb.th.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /></a>
mods: intake, m3 exhaust, chip, carbon fiber hood and emblems, clear corners, reverse indiglo gauges
stereo: panasonic touch screen, polk component set in q logic kick panels, kicker 5 channel amp, 12&quot; kicker square
325is1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Car:
Posts: 756
Photos:
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
ohh sorry bout that i dint read the whole thing
__________________
Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 03:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
abemcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Car:
Posts: 263
Photos:
abemcclellan is an unknown quantity at this point
yeah autozone hooks it up and checks your codes for free. but i don't know if they have the hook up adapter to fit our computer things.
abemcclellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
RIBEMR26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Car:
Posts: 577
Photos:
RIBEMR26 is an unknown quantity at this point
they do
__________________
<img src='http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/uploads/post-46-1094081870.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />

Clear Corners and Sidemarkers
ZKW Euro Ellipsoids w/ DDE Enhanced
Debaffled Airbox w/Green Drop-In High Performance Air Filter
RIBEMR26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 07:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: oklahoma city
Car:
Posts: 174
Photos:
325is1994 is an unknown quantity at this point
auto zone does it for free?!!!! why do people pay to gave them read?
__________________
<a href='http://img136.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img136&image=bmwcopy3kb.gif' target='_blank'><img src='http://img136.exs.cx:81/img136/8032/bmwcopy3kb.th.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' /></a>
mods: intake, m3 exhaust, chip, carbon fiber hood and emblems, clear corners, reverse indiglo gauges
stereo: panasonic touch screen, polk component set in q logic kick panels, kicker 5 channel amp, 12&quot; kicker square
325is1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 74
Photos:
streetdreams is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by 325is1994@Nov 23 2004, 07:06 PM
auto zone does it for free?!!!! why do people pay to gave them read?
[snapback]236270[/snapback]

I just got back from VatoZone, they said they only could read OBD2 computers. 96 and up. I have a 92 325i and cant find anyone to read my engine codes.
streetdreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 07:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
93 325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Connecticut
Car:
Posts: 921
Photos:
93 325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 93 325i
Okay guys I too have tried and tried by using that articles directions. After a while of fiddling around I figured out how to do it..This is where the directions are wrong:
"...and pressing the gas pedal to the floor five times within a period of five seconds."

You have to press it 5 times as fast as you can. When you turn the key to on position a bunch of lights will illuminate and then go out within like 2 seconds. You have to press the gas pedal 5 times before those other lights go out. Got me? Try it and let me know if you got it to work..
__________________
Complete mod list and pics:

My 1993 325i
93 325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 12:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Retired administrator
 
triggrhaapi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Car:
Posts: 5,996
Photos:
triggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond reputetriggrhaapi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to triggrhaapi
I've gotten it to work on several occasions, you just have to treat it like rough sex and pump as much as you can.
__________________

Addicted to Speed Since 1997
Founding member of the GreenDragon Poo Flingers Club
Founder and Double Member of the 150mph club

Read about my Frankenmotor Project and see how an M50 becomes an S50!!!

No, don't worry. It's cool. I'm taking it back for us.
triggrhaapi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 04:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
redskins is an unknown quantity at this point
I have tried it and it worked. I get the fault code 1221. O2 sensor. My problem is it keeps cycling the same code. I counted about 1221 fault code 20 times in a row. I can't clear the computer. I tried the gas pedal down for 10 seconds but nothing...keeps recycling. Probabley because it hasn't given the last code.
redskins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2004, 05:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
abemcclellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oklahoma City
Car:
Posts: 263
Photos:
abemcclellan is an unknown quantity at this point
hmmm. i need to try that new method. i knew the directions were wrong somewhere but i didn't spend time to figure it out. -Thanks guys
abemcclellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2004, 05:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Car:
Posts: 332
Photos:
3serbmdubya is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by redskins@Nov 26 2004, 06:23 PM
I have tried it and it worked. I get the fault code 1221. O2 sensor. My problem is it keeps cycling the same code. I counted about 1221 fault code 20 times in a row. I can't clear the computer. I tried the gas pedal down for 10 seconds but nothing...keeps recycling. Probabley because it hasn't given the last code.
[snapback]237981[/snapback]

thats because you need to replace your o2 sensor... autozone has the bosch one off ther website and it works mad good.
__________________
<img src='http://img73.exs.cx/img73/8618/post-4-1069548360.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
3serbmdubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 11:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
redskins is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by 3serbmdubya+Nov 27 2004, 05:11 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(3serbmdubya @ Nov 27 2004, 05:11 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-redskins@Nov 26 2004, 06:23 PM
I have tried it and it worked.* I get the fault code 1221. O2 sensor.* My problem is it keeps cycling the same code.* I counted about 1221 fault code 20 times in a row. I can't clear the computer.* I tried the gas pedal down for 10 seconds but nothing...keeps recycling.* Probabley because it hasn't given the last code. *
[snapback]237981[/snapback]

thats because you need to replace your o2 sensor... autozone has the bosch one off ther website and it works mad good.
[snapback]238509[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

Thanks, Soon as the skins get beat by the steelers I will go get one at the auto store. Is it a easy change out....??
redskins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E30 Anti-theft Radio Code aaronhoy 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 06-08-2009 11:40 AM
Obd [one] Fault Code Reading nookatee 3-Series (E36) 18 07-19-2005 05:51 PM
Strange Fault Code ben_t 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 0 04-02-2005 06:53 AM
1991 318is Code Reading Kowalski 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 02-02-2005 02:25 AM
Asking For Code jshearer Audio and Electronics 1 12-18-2004 08:28 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.