"break Lights Failure" Message - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2005, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

Car:
Photos:
toast_mcmann is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up

yeah I'm a noob on this forum. I own a 95 325is 5 speed, and I do need some advise on my ride. My computer reads "break lights failure", and guess what? My break lights don't work. From what I know it could be one of two things: brake light switch, or brake light circuit. Yes, I checked the bulbs and the fuses. Is it infact one of the two formentioned parts or is there something else going on? If it is the switch or the circuit, where are they located in the car, and are there any available walk throughs on the subject? Any feed back is appreciated.
toast_mcmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2005, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Neutral Member

Car: 1997 328i
Photos:
Larry Horne is an unknown quantity at this point
I'd check the brake light switch first. Its located under the driver's side dash adjacent to the brake pedal. I have replaced mine twice and the car is a '97 with 130,000 miles. What happens is the blades inside the switch beome carboned and create an arch that the computer senses and throws the code you are seeing in the OBC. The next phase is total switch failure.