Brake Light Circuit Warning? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 08:25 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Wis
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Laker is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
My Brake Light Circuit warning message keeps showing up. The owners manuel says to check bulbs, fuse or circuit defective. All bulbs check ok, no blown fuses that I have found and everything seems to work ok, so does anyone know what else this looks at or exactly what sensors might be involved with this circuit. Car is a 1994 325.
Thanks for any help
Laker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 08:45 PM
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Its a very common problem with E36s... do a search on google for brake light circute failure.. and you should get a few bmw forums and info on how to fix it... good luck.. its not hard to fix.. just a pain in the ass...

Les


1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 09:21 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poquoson, VA
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Bear is an unknown quantity at this point
Do not know about the E36, but on the E30 she is programmed to come on at start up or until the brake pedal is stepped upon.
Bear is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 09:33 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Reedalicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Thats how we do it in the OC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reedalicious is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Reedalicious
Its a switch under the steering wheel. Do a search becuase at least once a week some one asks this.

Reedalicious is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 09:44 PM
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Posts: 3,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
i have the same prob, evey so often... i just put the car in park, ( automatic) turn the car off... for a couple seconds.. then restart.. and i'm good to go....


nothing is really wrong, its just a glitch of some sort...????

-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 09:49 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Wis
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Laker is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Thanks everybody for the info.
Laker is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 09:51 PM
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
my will not go off either and ive changed the brake light switch and my tail lights do work, so how do i get this off of my computer
okczy21 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 10:22 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
Quote:
Originally posted by Cruzin 323is@Aug 31 2004, 08:24 PM
i have the same prob, evey so often... i just put the car in park, ( automatic) turn the car off... for a couple seconds.. then restart.. and i'm good to go....


nothing is really wrong, its just a glitch of some sort...????
nope it fixin to die for good.. mine did that too. i replaced it earlier this month easy to do. takes about 20 min... rember just break the old one out dont be nice about it. thats what took me so long.

there is a howto someplace too.. i ithink at pelican parts.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 10:29 PM
/Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: nap town
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
okczy21 is an unknown quantity at this point
what else is involved with this warning besides the brake light switch, i also soldered my contacts in the taillights just in case it wasnt getting a solid contact and it still on my computer
okczy21 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 10:59 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
theogill is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to theogill
I just replaced my brake light switch (under the dash-a real bitch for a big guy like me), but technically easy. Look on Pelican parts for instructions, and be sure to buy the part from BMW. Others allegedly make noises etc. If you have aftermarket tails, they could be the problem.
Replacing hte switch took care of my problem. FOr those who may still be having problems, try a new set of BMW taillights. When I put on my aftermarkt clears, I got a code saying Brake light failure even though it works.
Anyway, good luck.
Also, the guy at BMW asked me whcih switch I wanted, the one under the dash or the one on the transmission. COuld the tranny one be hte problem?

98 328i, black/black, manual, canadian sport pkg, ECIS intake, koni sport adj's, dinan springs, oe/oem clears.
Considering: tms shark,M 17" wheels, larger sway bars.
theogill is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 08-31-2004, 11:00 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
iantosca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iantosca is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to iantosca
There's a faq in this forum about how to repair it.

98' BMW 328i - Jet Black, Black Leather, Alpine CDA-9831 HU

<span style='color:red'>For Sale:</span> Sony CDX-F5000 Xplod w/ Wiring Harness, iBook G3 900 Mhz 640 MB SDRAM w/ Original Box and Software + OS X Panther + Microsoft Office

(PM on any offers, Going on E-Bay soon ...)
iantosca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake Light Circuit Warning (again) Stamey 3-Series (E21, E30) 11 03-05-2005 07:05 PM
Brake light circuit Steinkek 3-Series (E36) 5 08-28-2004 09:55 PM
Brake Lining warning Light Jefbrunton 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 5 01-07-2004 04:07 PM
OBC - brake light circuit bimmerbill 3-Series (E36) 6 12-02-2003 11:43 AM
Brake Lining warning Light Jefbrunton 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 11-29-2003 07:25 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome