Bad Shifting - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2004, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
iantosca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 380
Photos:
iantosca is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to iantosca
I've been driving my automatic 328i and have lately noticed a decline in the shifting. I'm talking about the car shifting at much higher rpm's then it should be ... i know i have to replace my sparkplugs, but could sparkplugs really be the problem? also, should i just go with standard oem sparkplugs?
__________________
98' BMW 328i - Jet Black, Black Leather, Alpine CDA-9831 HU

<span style='color:red'>For Sale:</span> Sony CDX-F5000 Xplod w/ Wiring Harness, iBook G3 900 Mhz 640 MB SDRAM w/ Original Box and Software + OS X Panther + Microsoft Office

(PM on any offers, Going on E-Bay soon ...)
iantosca is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2004, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
What? No Autobahn?
 
jrhaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, Wa
Car: 2001 M5
Posts: 3,525
Photos:
jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile jrhaile
Send a message via ICQ to jrhaile Send a message via AIM to jrhaile Send a message via MSN to jrhaile
sparkplugs would not cause this... could be slippage in the tranny inself. Could be the tranny computer not working properly... I'd go pull codes.

Always get standard bosch plugs for your bimmer. other plugs in my opinion don't do shit...
__________________
jrhaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
iantosca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 380
Photos:
iantosca is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to iantosca
Thank jrhaile and I will do that. Looks like I'm taking it to a garage on Monday, they can just change the oil and spark plugs while they look at it i guess. n
__________________
98' BMW 328i - Jet Black, Black Leather, Alpine CDA-9831 HU

<span style='color:red'>For Sale:</span> Sony CDX-F5000 Xplod w/ Wiring Harness, iBook G3 900 Mhz 640 MB SDRAM w/ Original Box and Software + OS X Panther + Microsoft Office

(PM on any offers, Going on E-Bay soon ...)
iantosca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East Texas..USA...
Car:
Posts: 451
Photos:
DeefNDorf is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to DeefNDorf Send a message via MSN to DeefNDorf
Hmm..Do that and let me know what it should be shifting at...my shift fine biut I would like to know if its stock.......
__________________
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
DeefNDorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
iantosca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 380
Photos:
iantosca is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to iantosca
Yup, no problem.
__________________
98' BMW 328i - Jet Black, Black Leather, Alpine CDA-9831 HU

<span style='color:red'>For Sale:</span> Sony CDX-F5000 Xplod w/ Wiring Harness, iBook G3 900 Mhz 640 MB SDRAM w/ Original Box and Software + OS X Panther + Microsoft Office

(PM on any offers, Going on E-Bay soon ...)
iantosca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 4
Photos:
blaster19 is an unknown quantity at this point
I had erratic shifting I thought was a major problem. Changed tranny fluid and all is well now. Hope yours comes out just as easy. Good Luck!
blaster19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Turbodefrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bellingham, Washington. USA
Car:
Posts: 616
Photos:
Turbodefrost is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Turbodefrost
mine shifts at higher rpms, but this only happens the first or second time accelerating after turning on the car. Could this be the same problem?
__________________
Turbodefrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 04:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Car: 2008 128i
Posts: 2,718
Photos:
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
If you stomp on it it will hold the gears a little longer for more acceration.
__________________
2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 07:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Millions of them.
 
Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Car: e36 w/ a m42
Posts: 14,878
Photos:
Torque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond reputeTorque has a reputation beyond repute
Try pushing the gas pedal gently (accelerate as slow as possible) and see if it still shifts at high rpms. When doing this it should shift up by the time it reaches around 2300 rpm.

If you stomp on it all the way it will go all the way.
__________________
Torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Car: 2008 128i
Posts: 2,718
Photos:
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
if the tranny is cold it may take a bit longer for it to shift.
__________________
2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 08:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 19
Photos:
whosurdaddy is an unknown quantity at this point
yea, i dont have an automatic, but when my moms car is cold it shifts a little late than it should
whosurdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 01:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 13
Photos:
chrisNX2000 is an unknown quantity at this point
i just posted something similar, my buddy's car wont shift untill he gets to about 3,000 or a little bit over, and that's when he's goin easy on the pedal. but when he really presses it, it will go up 6,000 and it wont even be going fast. i think it could be the throttle cable. BTW, it's also a 318i auto.
chrisNX2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 01:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Keep it Copacetic
 
///M Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO ||| Los Angeles, CA
Car: 1995 BMW M3
Posts: 9,481
Photos:
///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute///M Power has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to ///M Power
Quote:
Originally posted by chrisNX2000@Jul 22 2004, 02:28 PM
it wont even be going fast.

....

318i auto.
theres ur answer for why it doesn't go fast.

lol

How many miles has it been since you changed ur tranny fluid? Have you/they done any moddifications like a racing chip?
__________________

1995 BMW M3 Turbo - Dakar/Black
///M Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 02:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 13
Photos:
chrisNX2000 is an unknown quantity at this point
lol... sorry i didn't mention this eariler but the car doesn't belong to me, it belongs to my friends. but he doesn't know crap about cars. i dont know when the last time he did anything it it was. but there is no preformance mods whatsoever it's all stock.
chrisNX2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shifting, How To Do It Properly Scotty Dangles 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 03-22-2005 01:28 PM
Difficulty shifting 2000 328i seyyoung 3-Series (E46, E90) 10 11-22-2004 01:13 PM
Loose Shifting CiscoKid 3-Series (E36) 9 04-18-2004 07:23 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.