Automatic Transmission Chip - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 12:20 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DukeU03 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey, I am planning on buying either a 93 325is or a 94 325i, both areblack, great deals for price, but both are also automatic, i found a chip on the dinancar.com site that side it would raise the rpm for the shift on an auto and make the shift quicker as well....has anyone tried these?do they work? and is it anything close to a stick (which i want)? i have to get the car within the week so this is why im hopin i can get some quick responses, thanks to all those who help
DukeU03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 12:43 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
I'd get the engine chip 1st.
then the tranny chip...

it will work and will do something. dinan is a good company.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 01:30 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DukeU03 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
yeah i planned on getting the enginge chip as well, along with the intake and a few other pieces from that site, i was jus curious if it would make the car accelerate more like a stick with the same modifications done to it, thanks - everyone who sees this should look at the post about the guy makin a run for it in his bmw...cant wait for a video of that
DukeU03 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 01:34 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DukeU03 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
http://dinancars.com/Series.asp?Series=14&...sis=11&Model=12

that is the link by the way if anyone wants to look at or wants the chip, scroll down or click on the link on the left
DukeU03 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-22-2004, 03:02 PM
1st Gear Member
 
eskiasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
eskiasu is an unknown quantity at this point
An automatic is an automatic, sorry. Having the chip will not let you increase the rpm without going into first, unless of course you rev up in neutral. So you really can't do burnouts and have that "manual" acceleration since you can't rev in neutral and then dropping the clutch. Although the chip and intake, etc does make you go faster since it increases your hp and torque but you still wouldn't get that manual feeling. Unless of course your torque is through the roof and you have slicks on, then you'll get a burnout.

Booyashaka!!!
eskiasu is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 06-23-2004, 09:57 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
yeha,... that wont do alot... if you want manual performance, then go for a manual

CiscoKid is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 06-23-2004, 03:43 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
is there an automatic chip for OBDII, or is it just for OBDI?
wulley1 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 06-23-2004, 04:14 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
Personally, I'd swap to a 5-6 spd manual transmission if you could, the torque converter looses a LOT of the power that the engine is capable of producing when it's locking mechanism apparently begins to wear down. (it's a 'slipping' feeling that you may be experiencing)
If you want the chip, it will do something good since it's dinnan.

If you try to spin the wheels by revving and shifting to neutral, you will definately screw stuff up (like tear up the torque converter's locking mechanism, like I've done) and chips wont make it too much different from stock in terms of manuality\automaticallity (making up words is fun!)


bitcore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Transmission Owners SonTon2003 3-Series (E46, E90) 30 01-21-2013 03:45 PM
Automatic Transmission onyxibex 3-Series (E21, E30) 2 03-28-2005 08:35 PM
Dinan Automatic Trans Chip bmwfanatice36 3-Series (E36) 8 10-22-2004 10:02 PM
Automatic Transmission Fluid / Steering Fluid akbarz 3-Series (E46, E90) 1 08-23-2004 03:04 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome