Automatic Not Downshifting - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-20-2005, 11:13 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jkh2828 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey guys, (posted something similar a while back...)

I have a 95 318i 133k automatic.

For some reason, when I slowly roll through a stop sign at like 3 mph, and try to accelerate, I can't because my car is often in 3rd, sometimes 2nd. I know it is in 2nd or 3rd because I can manually shift down, or I can also tell by looking at the rpms vs. speed.

If I start with the gear selector in first, my car accelerates just fine.

Also, I have tried this using the A/M switch, seeing if that has any effect. It does not matter - it only seems to keep the car in 3rd at higher rpms, like at 60 mph.

Is this a computer problem of sensing load vs rpm? Sometimes, if I push the pedal past the "click" point, it will upshift, but there is a HUGE lag time. It is really annoying if you are trying to quickly accelerate like when you are trying to get across an intersection.

please let me know if you have any ideas on this one.

someone suggested a "knockdown switch" or "torque actuator"

jkh

<img src='http://www.jbheiss.com/pics/BMW.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
jkh2828 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-21-2005, 01:29 AM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
See if you can check your transmission fluid levels, they could be low, not causing the hydraulics to work correctly so it dosn't downshift proporly. You might as well go ahead and change the fluid, the two gaskets and filter for it.


bitcore is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-21-2005, 03:03 AM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jkh2828 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I don't want to start a debate - but I thought the ATF was "good for life?" I would think that means at least 100k. I can see like 300 would be a long time.

At anyrate - I am a little nervous about messing with the tranny b/c other than the shifting problem, it shifts amazingly smooth, and I wouldn't want anything to go wrong.

The thing is it does shift, and shifts smoothly, but I just doesn't downshift sometimes - so it seems more like an electronic thing to me.

jkh

<img src='http://www.jbheiss.com/pics/BMW.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
jkh2828 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-21-2005, 06:14 AM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
Thats what BMW says, but there are drain plugs and fill holes for the transmission and no lubricant and filter lasts forever. Numerous people here have done it and there's even a technical writeup with pictures on pelicanparts.
http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/techarticl..._Fluid_Auto.htm

BMW says it's "sealed" when it's really not. There are a few gaskets and a drain plug where it can slowly find a way out and leak slowly. It's improbable but possible.

If you still think it's the electronics, then roll on over to the dealership and get them to diagnose the transmission computer.


bitcore is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-21-2005, 07:11 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clemson, South Carolina
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
victorgallas is an unknown quantity at this point
it is very likely that the problem here is an computer, electronic system on the trany
BMW gearboxes are rock solid trnnys, but the electronic are not.

there a series of sensors on the tranny, so the transmission computer knows waht is going on.

i would first go under the car and ensure that all the wires are plug in, and even so, unplug them and then plug them back in, si if there was some dirt on the plgut it will help/ good time to get a contact cleaner to clean the contacts. I really think the some speed sensor on the tranny is not measuring the speed right, and is very likely because of dirt on the plug, like moisture then rust, that is creating resistance, and since many sensor work on resistance, this will give the computer wrong readout.

if everything underneat the car is clean and ok, then check so see how are the wires from the tranny up to the computer box, make sure they are not broken, etc. from under the car to the computer box, i believe there are 2 more plugs, check them too.

the reason it is very likely to be electronic is becuse you said that changing the A/m swicth does not do much. and when putting into 1 , it works, that is because there is a mechanical link between the selector and the tranny to select the postion., but the control of shifting on D is electronic.

And if after doing all this you still cannot get it, then you will have to go to the stealer, so he can pull up the transmission information....

And by the way the oil and filter can be replaced, and it is recomended once you get to such a high mileage.

good luck.

You are a BMW driver when you become part of the &quot;Ultimate Driving Machine&quot;

Fraude an Fahren
BMW &gt; Bayerische Motorenwerke

Auf Viedersehen der herr

www.clemsonfsae.com
victorgallas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Tell Options With Vin? cm70man 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 20 11-11-2013 05:31 PM
Need Carfax Report, Please Help F U Have Carfax Ac ozbmw 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 05-11-2005 10:58 AM
Vin Number skimmilk 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 12-16-2004 05:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome