Alarm Help - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 03:18 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Black318IS is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
I remember a while ago that someone had a code on here for turning on the security system and i did the search but nothing came up. I know that it had to do with opening the trunk, walking into the car, then something, then getting out and closing and locking the door and then closing the trunk. Can anyone help me out?
Black318IS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 10:03 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
I'd like to know that answer to this one too? Anyone???

And yes, it is something similar to that. First, you close all the doors (not lock), then you open your trunk. GO in the car, crank (but not start) then close trunk, then I THINK! Crank it (but not start) 8 times in a row, I could be wrong on my numbers. And if you do it right, the little red led in front of your gears will falsh saying it's ready for the remote. Now, if you do this right, and the led doesn't flash, then you have the same problem as I do, whish I have no idea on how to fix.


VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 10:49 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
emust is an unknown quantity at this point
Try this link. It worked for me.

http://www.mz3.net/articles/259.html
emust is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 08:18 PM
1st Gear Member
 
TeeUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
TeeUp is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by emust@Jan 10 2005, 08:49 PM
Try this link. It worked for me.

http://www.mz3.net/articles/259.html
[snapback]268618[/snapback]

i don't know what i missed but i seem can't get it right......

here's the full text:




Each remote transmitter has a unique identification (ID) code. In order for a replacement remote to operate your security system, or to delete the ID code from a lost remote, you must follow the procedures detailed below so that your system's control module will learn/delete the desired ID code(s). This code-learning initialization procedure must be followed precisely within the sequence and time constraints specified, in order for the procedure to be carried out successfully.

Preparation
1. Close all doors, trunk, and hood.
2. The security system must be in "disarm" mode. The key must be removed from the ignition key slot.

Enter Code-Learning Mode
3. Open the trunk and leave it open.
4. Open the driver's door and sit in the driver's seat.
5. Close the driver's door.
6. Cycle the ignition switch five times between the "off" position and position 2 (ignition "ON", all dash warning lamps will illuminate). The red status LED will illuminate continuously, and the siren will "chirp" once, to indicate that the code-learning mode has been initiated.


<span style='color:gray'>NOTE: i cant get to have the LED illuminate. should the key be left on the "on" position or back to "off"? should the key be removed??? help!!!!



DO NOT START THE ENGINE

The ignition switch cycling in step #6 must be performed within ten seconds.

The sequence in steps #1-6 must be performed within 45 seconds.

Registering/Delete ID Code(s)
7. Open driver's door, (remain seated in driver's seat)
8. Close driver's door.
9. Press and release any button on the remote you wish to register into the system. The status LED will shut off momentarily to indicate that one ID code has been registered.
10. Repeat steps 7 through 9 to register the remaining three ID codes.

Exiting Code-Learning Mode
11. Open driver's door, and exit from vehicle, leaving the door opened.
12. Close trunk.
13. Close driver's door. The LED will turn off and the siren will "chirp" twice.
14. The initialization procedure is now completed, test all remotes to confirm operation.

It is possible for the system to memorize a total of four different ID codes. As a new code is initialized into memory, the oldest code in memory is automatically deleted. If you had lost your remotes and wished to delete the lost remote ID codes from memory, you could initialize the ID code from a newly purchased replacement transmitter four times thereby deleting the previous ID codes from system memory.</span>
TeeUp is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 09:03 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
You have the same problem as I do, you need a new alarm module probably...


VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 10:33 PM
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: California
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
frank3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Those instructions won't work if you have a '95 or before alarm...the three-button remote. If you have this alarm, you need to access the alarm "brain" behind the glove box, place the chip that's in your remote into the brain and push a button.

<span style='color:green'>1994 325i </span>- - - 75,000 mi.
No mods - - - very happy as is!
<span style='color:green'>1995 525i </span>- - - 154,000 mi.
No squeaks or rattles... unreal!
frank3 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 10:47 PM
1st Gear Member
 
TeeUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
TeeUp is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Rooz@Jan 27 2005, 07:03 PM
You have the same problem as I do, you need a new alarm module probably...
[snapback]280691[/snapback]

do i? but my alarm system is doing perfectly fine. i just wanted to add an extra remote just in case i lose mine.
TeeUp is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 10:49 PM
1st Gear Member
 
TeeUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
TeeUp is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by frank3@Jan 27 2005, 08:33 PM
Those instructions won't work if you have a '95 or before alarm...the three-button remote. If you have this alarm, you need to access the alarm "brain" behind the glove box, place the chip that's in your remote into the brain and push a button.
[snapback]280747[/snapback]

you must have meant if i had the alpine alarm, which i dont. what i have is the two button with part no. 82 111 469 448.
TeeUp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bmw Alarm Vs. Viper Alarm dugies25 Audio and Electronics 8 03-24-2005 04:48 PM
Alarm questions wulley1 3-Series (E36) 4 05-24-2004 11:31 PM
Factory Fitted Alarm smoker 3-Series (E36) 5 03-08-2004 12:40 PM
Funny thing about factory alarm mostwired 3-Series (E36) 9 01-26-2004 03:16 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome