4 speed Automatic 318i 8v to 5 speed StepTronic 318IS DOHC 16v Swap questions!! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-18-2009, 07:46 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kaantjee is on a distinguished road
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation 4 speed Automatic 318i 8v to 5 speed StepTronic 318IS DOHC 16v Swap questions!!

Good evening ladies and gentleman.

I'm new on this forum, and have a couple of questions.

I have a E36 BMW 318i 8v. With an 4 speed Automatic gearbox.
On the way home i blow up my gasket, and short after it (i drove further because i wanted a 16v swap), i screwed up my gearbox.

Now i have a '94 318i engine i think a M42? And an GM 4 speed gearbox.
And i have a M44 318IS 16v DOHC Engine (for the swap)

I know that the 6 cilinders have 5 speed gearboxes (Automatic), so i want to swap direct with the engine this kind of gearbox.

So my questions are:
What do i need to get the engine working and will the 5 speed auto gearbox of an 6 cilinder engine mount directly on the IS engine without problems?
And will i need both ECU's?
Or can i use my original ECU's (Engine and Gearbox)?
And witch auto transmisions can bolt on my m44 engine? Because i want to make it a steptronic.
Can a 5HP18 bolt on my M44 engine and can it run with the old gearbox ecu?
And is a 8v to 16v swap easy? And what will i all need to change to run it?

thanks,
Kaantjee.

Ps. Please dont tell me to mount manual gearbox, because i want it to keep automatic.

Ps2, i'm sorry if my english is not good, im dutch
Kaantjee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-19-2009, 05:07 PM
Millions of them.
 
Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 14,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute
I believe the gearbox from a 6 cylinder will bolt up to a 4 cylinder - they use the same bell housing; will probably need the proper computer to run it.

As for the 5hp18; it should work, but just be careful what 5hp18 it is; I know there was a version fitted to the 5 series V8s too, and I'm not really entirely sure that that one will bolt up. Find one from a 6 cylinder.

Torque is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 06:31 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kaantjee is on a distinguished road
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Ahaa, so the 5hp18 ZF Series gearbox from a 6 cilinder will fit on a m44

And can it run on my stock wiring and ECU?



And if i mount the engine with the transmision, can the engine start on the stock wiring and ecu? Or do i need a M44 ECU/wiring. I got a M43 now.

Thanks!
Kaantjee is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 06:37 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
I would say the ECU wiring will be ok although not 100% certain, you will deffo need the EGS from for the new box.....as for the V8 box I think its 5hp 24

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 06:40 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kaantjee is on a distinguished road
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
I would say the ECU wiring will be ok although not 100% certain, you will deffo need the EGS from for the new box.....as for the V8 box I think its 5hp 24
What exactly is a deffo and EGS..? (I'm sorry, but my english is not 100%)

And i want it to make it a Steptronic, i know what i need for it, and i know that i can plug and play it in this kind of gearbox..
Kaantjee is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 07:16 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
The EGS ( Electronic gearbox system ) basically the gearbox ECU, here's one:

TRANSMISSION COMPUTER BMW 318I 1993 1994:eBay Motors (item 170393971232 end time Nov-11-09 17:51:14 PST)

Deffo = definitely.........sorry I use that all the time.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 08:34 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
coolvegase34 is an unknown quantity at this point
Why not find a decent 2.5 liter to put in it if you are going to go through the trouble of doing a swap. Much better performance in a light 318.
coolvegase34 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 08:41 AM
Millions of them.
 
Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 14,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolvegase34 View Post
Why not find a decent 2.5 liter to put in it if you are going to go through the trouble of doing a swap. Much better performance in a light 318.
In most (if not all) countries in Europe, cars are taxed based on displacement; that and the 1.8 is better on gas ... could be the reason he doesn't want a 2.5

Marti, I believe e34 530i v8 and maybe 540i (not sure on the latter) came with a 5hp18 box.

Torque is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 09:36 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Torque , yes I think your right the 540 was the 5hp 24 ZF box.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 10:57 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kaantjee is on a distinguished road
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolvegase34 View Post
Why not find a decent 2.5 liter to put in it if you are going to go through the trouble of doing a swap. Much better performance in a light 318.
I allready got an 323i Full factory M-Tech, with a 2.5 Liter engine..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torque View Post
In most (if not all) countries in Europe, cars are taxed based on displacement; that and the 1.8 is better on gas ... could be the reason he doesn't want a 2.5

Marti, I believe e34 530i v8 and maybe 540i (not sure on the latter) came with a 5hp18 box.
No, the taxes are about the weight of the car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
The EGS ( Electronic gearbox system ) basically the gearbox ECU, here's one:

TRANSMISSION COMPUTER BMW 318I 1993 1994:eBay Motors (item 170393971232 end time Nov-11-09 17:51:14 PST)


Deffo = definitely.........sorry I use that all the time.
Ahh. Ok. I will search that to. Can i leave the stock wires, or do i need that to?

And about deffo, haha.. now i learend something new again
Kaantjee is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 11:16 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
You will have to see if the stock wires/connectors marry up with the new EGS, the ones that go to the box Im not sure, if I were you I would get the other harness, to be on the safe side,but see if the EGS marries up 1st.

CAR TAX:
Our cars in the UK are based on emissions, age of the car and put in to groups, I pay £195 a year for my 735i V8 so pretty cheap compared to most of the civilised world, as I know a friend in Eire (sothern Ireland) pays €1,800 and if I had my car in Belgium I would be looking at around €2,600.There is one small new car we have some hyundai thing I think which costs approx £26.00 a year....mind you the new 7series from 2002 onwards you pay £400.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!

Last edited by marti5; 10-20-2009 at 11:20 AM.
marti5 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 04:30 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Kaantjee is on a distinguished road
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
You will have to see if the stock wires/connectors marry up with the new EGS, the ones that go to the box Im not sure, if I were you I would get the other harness, to be on the safe side,but see if the EGS marries up 1st.

CAR TAX:
Our cars in the UK are based on emissions, age of the car and put in to groups, I pay 195 a year for my 735i V8 so pretty cheap compared to most of the civilised world, as I know a friend in Eire (sothern Ireland) pays 1,800 and if I had my car in Belgium I would be looking at around 2,600.There is one small new car we have some hyundai thing I think which costs approx 26.00 a year....mind you the new 7series from 2002 onwards you pay 400.
Aight thanks,

And what about the 1.8 8v to 1.9 16v swap? What do i need to change for that?

and about the car tax here, its about the weight of the car, and if the car is 25years or older than you dont have to pay it anymore.
PLUS if you drive a diesel you will have to pay like twice so much.
The Toyota Prius Hybride is tax free, but the Honda Civic Hybride is almost free.

I pay for my Bimmer +/- 100euro's per 3 months. (thats about 50 dollars a month).
Kaantjee is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 10-30-2009, 01:25 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
qualicas is on a distinguished road
The M42 engine is a 16 valve engine. I really doubt that you will notice any performance increase in the 0.1 litre displacement increase. I'd just rebuild the M42 that way you won't have wiring problems etc. It does seem that the M42 is more common than the M44 probably built for more years.
qualicas is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 10-30-2009, 07:41 AM
Millions of them.
 
Torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 14,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute Torque has a reputation beyond repute
He's not swapping m42>m44 (he doesn't even have a m42 in there); he's swapping m40/m43>m44; 25 extra hp is hardly "nothing".

Torque is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 10-30-2009, 09:59 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
qualicas is on a distinguished road
Torque
The OP said he thought it was an M42 with 8v. So That was why my comment.
Excuse my ignorance, then I assume an M40/M43 is a 1.8 with 8v??
In that case what model came with that engine?
qualicas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS:CA M30B34 full swap and 5-Speed trans AlpineSixAndSeven OEM Parts 0 01-25-2009 07:02 PM
Swapping out an Automatic for a 5-speed kbh 3-Series (E36) 2 10-11-2006 01:46 AM
Steptronic vs. 4 speed kalarasy 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 07-07-2004 12:55 PM
5 SPeed Swap PLEASe HELp ME nukeall 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 12-11-2003 12:36 PM
Automatic to 5-speed conversion? babzenuda 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 12-07-2003 09:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome