325 RPM problem.... HELP... - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-05-2009, 06:54 PM
n00b
 
Raz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Raz325 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Raz325
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy 325 RPM problem.... HELP...

I have a 93 325is 5spd 130k, The problem i'm having is when im driving the rpms hold and sometimes increase when i let go of the gas pedal. I had IAC problems when the winter started so I had it changed, It had the same problem before to. Ive sprayed everywhere under the hood looking for a leak and nothing. Anyone have any ideas? PS: First BMW...
Raz325 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 09:18 PM
n00b
 
olds72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
olds72 is on a distinguished road
you may need to clean the throtle body. My VW did the same thing. I had to take off the air intake and spray some carb cleaner, then use a small wire brush to scrub in there.
olds72 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-08-2009, 03:29 PM
n00b
 
Raz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Raz325 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Raz325
(Thread Starter)
Thanks. I'll give that a shot. I sprayed the MAF out but never the throttle body.
Raz325 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 10:11 PM
Neutral Member
 
ian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ian3 is on a distinguished road
I had the same problem and my check engine light came on......but after I cleaned the throttle body it turned off...

///M
ian3 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 03:44 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
keykey is on a distinguished road
sprayed maf?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raz325 View Post
Thanks. I'll give that a shot. I sprayed the MAF out but never the throttle body.
If you sprayed the MAF with anything besides MAF Cleaner spray then the MAF could be your problem. Carb cleaners and such sprays leaves residue on the wire and it could break completely or not perform as it should.

Have you scanned for DTC's (Fault codes)?
keykey is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 06:44 PM
n00b
 
Raz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Raz325 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Raz325
(Thread Starter)
I cleaned it with carb cleaner an it runs the same as before so I dont think it hurt it at all. When i got the car it showed a air temp sensor code, I erased the codes and it never came back, About 3 weeks ago the check engine light came on and it was for the o2 sensor. Ive had this rpm problem for a long time and all the time so I dont think thats whats causing it. I honestly dont know.
Raz325 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-14-2009, 08:44 AM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Still sounds like the MAF to me, or one other thing really,Camshaft sensor

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-14-2009, 12:27 PM
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
marti5 is on a distinguished road
May also be throttle position switch.

VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-14-2009, 01:09 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: london
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
benneo is on a distinguished road
had the same problem turned out to be a split in an air intake hose(thats what the dealer called it!) then couple of weeks later it returned only for it to be the new nonbranded floor mat was moving under my heel and getting trapped between the gas pedal and my foot! my mate has had a small stone that was stuck under the gas pedal and it had the same effect.
benneo is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 01-16-2009, 08:07 AM
n00b
 
Raz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Raz325 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Raz325
(Thread Starter)
I did switch out the throttle position switch already, didn't help... Its funny you brought up the floor mat cuz I just noticed the other day that it was riding up the bottom of the gas pedal, I moved it back but no luck... I can open the trottle under the hood to rev it up and close it all the way by hand and it still does it.. I read that the 325's had a recall on the throttle cable so I thought that could of been it.
Raz325 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2009, 08:10 AM
n00b
 
Raz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Raz325 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Raz325
(Thread Starter)
I noticed that my car redlines at 7000k, That would mean theres a chip in it rite? could that be the problem?
Raz325 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 01-19-2009, 05:01 PM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmerguy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: City of Rain, PNW
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute bimmerguy82 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to bimmerguy82
maybe ICV is dirty.

BMWcrazy
___________
-Joshua



|AA stage 1 software| UUC light flywheel and clutch| UUC EVO 3 ssk | K&N Intake | Ebay Headers |

BMWCCA member#407674

Founding member of the hit 145 mph in my almost stock 325i BMW club.
bimmerguy82 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 03-14-2009, 12:48 PM
n00b
 
Raz325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester MN
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Raz325 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Raz325
(Thread Starter)
Problem solved. I cleaned out the old IAC like you said, got it nice and shiny. It still didnt fix the rpm hang up problem, I did find some cracks starting to form in my intake boot but not all the way through... How I found out what was killing my car was by killing it.. I took my car to the car wash and got a turbo II undercarriage wash, killed it instantly... I looked into it and found out that my ecu bay got full of water and took out the ecu, I bought a new (used) ecu and the car came back to life.. After it was back running I switched the Dinan chip over and the rpm problem came back, Bad chip! Got the factory chip in it now and it runs great. Now I have to find out how it got water up there... lol.
Raz325 is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 03-14-2009, 01:47 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,701
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Glad you sorted it!

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(RPM) Problem HELP PLEASE Russian318 3-Series (E36) 3 11-23-2008 03:31 AM
bmw 328i rpm problem *the*stig* 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 11-10-2008 03:07 PM
Problem With My 325 ArenYarian 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 03-09-2005 01:09 PM
'86 325 es clutch problem bennyb3bil 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 07-08-2004 12:26 AM
325 TDS LUMPY APROX1200/1300 RPM russ 3-Series (E36) 0 02-21-2004 01:28 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome