2 Questions - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E36) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1992-1999. Autodoodad Specific models include: BMW 316i, BMW 318i, BMW 318iS/ti, BMW 320, BMW 323, BMW 320, BMW 324, BMW 325, BMW 328.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 12:50 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dtoytwinturbo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
1st is will a 93 325is computer start a 95m3 motor?
and the second is they do make chips that will make it possible to run a m3 motor with a 325 computer right? i was told turner does this
dtoytwinturbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 01:03 AM
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
as far as i know.. if you were to buy a m3 engine, the chances of you getting the ecu is pretty good.. if not look for the m3 ecu

David
bigred318 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 01:38 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dtoytwinturbo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
well yea i have to get the m3 computer but i was just wondering if i could at least start the car cuz the m3 motor is already in the car waiting to be started
dtoytwinturbo is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 01:47 AM
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
you got any pics of this m3 engine in your 325?

David
bigred318 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 11:09 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Speedy-325is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pole Position #1
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Speedy-325is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Speedy-325is Send a message via MSN to Speedy-325is Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy-325is
its in the car already?????!!!!!

hmmmmmm....i know one way u can find out.............

Mark
Speedy-325is is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 11:19 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
I've heard something about using an M3 TMS cam chip that would work with the 325. But I have no idea how that works.

Anyways, M3 chip won't start up a 325, you need the exact same DME number. Different year production date 325's have different DMEs.

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 12:51 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dtoytwinturbo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
yes motor is in the car already and ill have to take pics of it today maybe and ill post them. ive heard that tms can convert the 325 computer with a chip to work the m3 motor
dtoytwinturbo is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 01:51 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by dtoytwinturbo@Dec 14 2004, 11:51 AM
yes motor is in the car already and ill have to take pics of it today maybe and ill post them.* ive heard that tms can convert the 325 computer with a chip to work the m3 motor
[snapback]250300[/snapback]
As I stated above, TMS has some kind of M3 cam chip that I've heard is usable with the 325 motor. I think the M3 cam chip only works if you actually have the M3 cams swapped into your M50 motor. That's why they call it the "M3 cam chip".

Why would you want to mix and match chips? Buy the proper one for your car. Even if it starts the motor, the ignition timing and fuel mixtures would be all screwed up.

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 04:37 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dtoytwinturbo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by Autotechnica+Dec 14 2004, 12:51 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Autotechnica @ Dec 14 2004, 12:51 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-dtoytwinturbo@Dec 14 2004, 11:51 AM
yes motor is in the car already and ill have to take pics of it today maybe and ill post them.* ive heard that tms can convert the 325 computer with a chip to work the m3 motor
[snapback]250300[/snapback]
As I stated above, TMS has some kind of M3 cam chip that I've heard is usable with the 325 motor. I think the M3 cam chip only works if you actually have the M3 cams swapped into your M50 motor. That's why they call it the "M3 cam chip".

Why would you want to mix and match chips? Buy the proper one for your car. Even if it starts the motor, the ignition timing and fuel mixtures would be all screwed up.
[snapback]250343[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]

no u didnt understand my question. i have the m3 motor in my car but i dont have the m3 computer. i just wanted to start the car, not even drive it just to see if the motor is working properly. i still have to get the m3 computer
dtoytwinturbo is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 04:48 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Autotechnica is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by dtoytwinturbo+Dec 14 2004, 03:37 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(dtoytwinturbo @ Dec 14 2004, 03:37 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'>
Quote:
Originally posted by Autotechnica@Dec 14 2004, 12:51 PM
<!--QuoteBegin-dtoytwinturbo
Quote:
@Dec 14 2004, 11:51 AM
yes motor is in the car already and ill have to take pics of it today maybe and ill post them.* ive heard that tms can convert the 325 computer with a chip to work the m3 motor
[snapback]250300[/snapback]


As I stated above, TMS has some kind of M3 cam chip that I've heard is usable with the 325 motor. I think the M3 cam chip only works if you actually have the M3 cams swapped into your M50 motor. That's why they call it the "M3 cam chip".

Why would you want to mix and match chips? Buy the proper one for your car. Even if it starts the motor, the ignition timing and fuel mixtures would be all screwed up.
[snapback]250343[/snapback]
no u didnt understand my question. i have the m3 motor in my car but i dont have the m3 computer. i just wanted to start the car, not even drive it just to see if the motor is working properly. i still have to get the m3 computer
[snapback]250471[/snapback]
[/b][/quote]


Ohhhhh ok. Well I have a '94 TMS and Raven Euro M3 computer chip I'm willing to sell cheap, let me know if you're interested.

Bry

<u>1994 M-Technic M42 Saloon - Trillium Chapter - 5130</u>
Stock - 2866lbs Current - 2670lbs
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/mtechnik42' target='_blank'>- VIEW MY MODS AND PICS</a>
<a href='http://www.automobile-technik.com' target='_blank'>- PARTS FOR SALE</a>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/atta...tc=1&quot;&gt;
Autotechnica is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 06:16 PM
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
well hook her up and try it. if you are going to end up buying the new computer and just wanted to see if it starts try it, if not wait til you get the comuter

David
bigred318 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 07:00 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dtoytwinturbo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by bigred318@Dec 14 2004, 05:16 PM
well hook her up and try it. if you are going to end up buying the new computer and just wanted to see if it starts try it, if not wait til you get the comuter

David
[snapback]250637[/snapback]
well i made a few calls to some shops and they said it should start it so i did it and it started. now the guy i bought it from is supposed to either get me a m3 computer or chip the 325 computer for me so ill see whats up.
ps. motor runs nice. totally different sound out the exhaust
dtoytwinturbo is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 07:03 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
dtoytwinturbo is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ohhhhh ok. Well I have a '94 TMS and Raven Euro M3 computer chip I'm willing to sell cheap, let me know if you're interested.

B
[snapback]250476[/snapback]
[/quote]

what would that chip do for me with my setup. 93 325 computer and 95 m3 motor. will it run properly and how much? you can email me at dtoyvr6@aol.com
dtoytwinturbo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E36)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bimmer n00b questions angryrobots 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 12-10-2007 12:08 AM
Couple of Questions rborak318iS 3-Series (E36) 5 10-02-2005 09:21 PM
Buying First Used Bmw, Have Some Questions ynotony 3-Series (E36) 1 06-06-2005 04:17 AM
New To Site, Have Some Questions Dj_325 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 05-13-2005 12:40 AM
Noob Questions.... 92_325i 3-Series (E36) 1 10-01-2004 12:16 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome