BMW Werkz banner

1994 325i will not start

11K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  94 Money Pit 
#1 ·
hello, i am new to using forums, but have read alot of them. i thought this would be a good place join and maybe find some help with my 325i.

Yesterday i purchased a as is no warranty 1994 325i with 176000 miles, i know it is high but everything was working on the car and the engine sound and ran good. but last night when i was driving home from my friends place, the car hesitated, sputterd and died. all the electronics seem to work and everything lights up. it cranks but will not start. Today i replaced the fuel filter as the old one seemed clogged, and installed the new one i started the car up and it ran for about a second then shut off. i tried to start again and again, but with no success, i stop because i dont want to ruin the starter.

i have also tried cleaning the MAF and the throttle body and checking all fluids. I am also thinking of taking to a shop, but as a DIY, i would like to stay away from the autoshop as much as possible. If anyone could please help me on what i should check next i would very much appreciate it,

Also if there is anything i should i know about this model. I have for along time wanted a BMW, and would like to keep this car for along time. When it was working it was great to drive. it really put a smile on my face driving it especially getting alot of power and what look like good fuel economy according to fuel usage gauge.

anyways thank you for reading.

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to the Werkz.......:)

Check all your fuses, if all fuses are good, turn ignition key to on position & listen for the fuel pump running on initial turn of the key, fuel pump is located in the fuel tank.

jbg :)

#3 ·
Thanks jbg, :)