WTF? on the ECU - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-07-2009, 11:21 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
FearsOfWar is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
WTF? on the ECU

So I had a problem traced to my computer, and had the whole thing replaced. We bought a used computer (housing and everything, not just the chip), and had it replaced.

Well, I've noticed a small loss in 5th gear power, the AC doesn't blow out as cold as it used to, and the cluster gas gauge, nor the on board computer gas range works.

Everything else is exactly the same.

I opened up the glove box and checked. All the numbers match exactly, my only concern is someone took a paint marker and wrote "1985 528e" on it. I have a 1986 325e, so I know it came off a computer around the same time, so I would believe they are interchangeable without this level of difficulty.

Anyone know anything that might be the cause, or have any ideas?
FearsOfWar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-08-2009, 09:47 AM
1st Gear Member
 
romeomike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
romeomike is on a distinguished road
Electrical Troubleshooting Manual (ETM) link

http://www.wedophones.com/Manuals/BM...g%20Manual.pdf

With higher heat and humidity, AC performance will suffer. My vent temperatures are 15 degrees higher (from 40 to 55), but when it's 108 outside I can understand it.

With the ETM, you'll have the schematics for the OBC and instrument cluster. Prayerfully it's nothing more than a fuse. Diagram attached.

You can compare your ECU's Bosch part number against this list:

list of all BMW ECU's (long)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fusebox1.jpg
Views:	1330
Size:	69.2 KB
ID:	28148  
romeomike is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-08-2009, 11:03 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
FearsOfWar is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
When I took it into the shop, the AC worked fine, the cluster gauge worked fine, and the on board worked fine.

On the way back from the shop (it took all of 20 minutes to swap), the AC no longer worked right, the gauge, and computer didn't either.

It was almost like it instantly stopped working with the computer swap.

The computer part number was the same on both the old & new computer.
FearsOfWar is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-08-2009, 11:43 AM
1st Gear Member
 
romeomike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
romeomike is on a distinguished road
Did they undo your negative battery cable prior to going into your glovebox to change out the ECU? If they did, the computer lost its settings for date, time, average mpg, and average mph. If they didn't, there's a possibility a fuse blew during the ECU swap.

You'll have to be more specific when you say the AC no longer worked right. My assumption was overall cooling performance deteriorated, but you could be having problems with your blower fan. Both are fuse-protected.

The OBC depends on the fuel gauge input to determine how much fuel is left in your gas tank. So if the fuel gauge is not working, it makes sense the range calculations would be off.

Invest in a digital multimeter if you don't have one already and do a continuity check on the fuses suggested by the diagram I attached earlier.
romeomike is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-11-2009, 12:48 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
FearsOfWar is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
I just had a thought.

Can an aftermarket chip pull up an error when the ECU is checked for problems?
FearsOfWar is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 02:25 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ADynamo09 is on a distinguished road
1986 325e DME location

To FearsOfWar, I am currently tracing down an idle issue in my car whenever it rains heavily. I believe it's the DME getting submerged in water in the chamber where the DME is located. I however, do not know where the DME is located. Could you please instruct me to the location of the DME chamber? Much thanks.
ADynamo09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ecu??? blazein 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 09-22-2008 07:32 PM
Ecu Shudogg Classifieds Sell & Buy 0 04-07-2005 01:44 PM
Where is the ECU lockey 3-Series (E36) 6 04-29-2004 01:52 PM
ECU Pino 3-Series (E36) 2 01-10-2004 11:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome