What Type Of Ecu Do I Have??? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 04:32 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
What Type Of Ecu Do I Have???

Hey all,

I have a 1986 325i M-Tech manual with a Bosch ECU with this model number:
0 265 103 004

Can somebody please advise what unit I have.

Much appreciated
PORTNOY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 05:00 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
Hey all,

I have a 1986 325i M-Tech manual with a Bosch ECU with this model number:
0 265 103 004

Can somebody please advise what unit I have.

Much appreciated
You have a Bosch 0 265 103 004.

/thread>


















j/k

Anyhow, that part number seems to be an ABS braking system controller and not your ECU. Your ECU is in the engine bay- inside the passenger side firewall, directly behind the battery connection post (or at least that is where it is in North American models).

Once you have teh correct part number, what are you hoping we can tell you about your ECU? For example, if you tell me you have a Bosch 12345678 ECU, then that is all I can tell you: that you have a Bosch 12345678 ECU


Last edited by drz; 08-28-2008 at 05:02 AM.
drz is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 05:06 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Should look something like this:


I think you should have one of these part numbers:

0-261-200-153; 0-261-200-173; 0-261-200-351; 0-261-200-380; 0-261-200-382; 0-261-200-524; 0-261-200-525; 0-261-200-526

drz is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 05:48 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz View Post
You have a Bosch 0 265 103 004.

/thread>


















j/k

Anyhow, that part number seems to be an ABS braking system controller and not your ECU. Your ECU is in the engine bay- inside the passenger side firewall, directly behind the battery connection post (or at least that is where it is in North American models).

Once you have teh correct part number, what are you hoping we can tell you about your ECU? For example, if you tell me you have a Bosch 12345678 ECU, then that is all I can tell you: that you have a Bosch 12345678 ECU
I want to get a performance ECU chip for my car and just wanted to know what type of computer I had. I that number I have posted under the dash on top of the glove box. Is that an ABS computer unit yes?
PORTNOY is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 05:55 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz View Post
Should look something like this:


I think you should have one of these part numbers:

0-261-200-153; 0-261-200-173; 0-261-200-351; 0-261-200-380; 0-261-200-382; 0-261-200-524; 0-261-200-525; 0-261-200-526
I did get it wrong, as you can tell I'm getting to know my E30.
The number I posted is an ABS computer unit
So, I should find the ECU in my engine bay then yes?
PORTNOY is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 08:57 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
you should be able to find your ECU under the dash.... above the glovebox. Remove the upper cover and it should expose the ECU.
darkhorse737 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 11:00 AM
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
^^^ yup darkhorse is right, as always...

yammahamma is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 01:42 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
you should be able to find your ECU under the dash.... above the glovebox. Remove the upper cover and it should expose the ECU.
That's where I got this number from, under the dash, above the glovebox.
But the number is an ABS computer unit
PORTNOY is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 02:35 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
That's where I got this number from, under the dash, above the glovebox.
But the number is an ABS computer unit
Found the ECU

Underneath the dash, next to steering column

Motronic 0 261 200 073

I'm looking for the best performance chip to install now
PORTNOY is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 09:47 PM
Crazy Fabricatin' Admin
 
gotKRAUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute gotKRAUT has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to gotKRAUT Send a message via MSN to gotKRAUT Send a message via Yahoo to gotKRAUT
Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
Found the ECU

Underneath the dash, next to steering column

Motronic 0 261 200 073

I'm looking for the best performance chip to install now
Jim C/Tuner Motorsports

google turner motorsports...none better

Kyle Sutherland

1995 BMW 540i/6:
The Calypso Beast Vid 0-70ish
1987 BMW 325es: Face & Butt Lifted/M50tu Swapped*Sold*
1985 VW Scirocco: Too many mods, money pit*Sold*
E34 Plate Filler Wanted!
gotKRAUT is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 10:49 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotKRAUT View Post
Jim C/Tuner Motorsports

google turner motorsports...none better
Thanks for the info but I've been there and tried that.

Turner do not have a listing for my ECU.

Do you know what other ECU's are compatible with mine that would be a straight swap and that would have performance chip listings????
PORTNOY is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 12:00 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by yammahamma View Post
^^^ yup darkhorse is right, as always...
*nope... i failed to see the fellow's E30 was RHD. DME/ECU would be by the steering column
darkhorse737 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 03:00 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
*nope... i failed to see the fellow's E30 was RHD. DME/ECU would be by the steering column
What other DME would work on a 1986 M20 B25 engine?
PORTNOY is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 08:23 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
What other DME would work on a 1986 M20 B25 engine?
what is the redline on your tach? and how many pins does your ECU have?

* if your chip is the 24 pin type... i am afraid there is no other DME that can work.
darkhorse737 is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 02:36 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
what is the redline on your tach? and how many pins does your ECU have?

* if your chip is the 24 pin type... i am afraid there is no other DME that can work.

The above number is actually incorrect, that is the ABS computer number. I have since found out I have a Bosch Motronic ML3.3 which is apparently a 35 pin type. Can anyone verify???
PORTNOY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference between schnitzer type II and type III mags jcy0001 3-Series (E36) 14 01-08-2006 10:45 PM
Ecu# bimmerguy82 3-Series (E36) 1 05-30-2005 05:13 PM
Ecu Shudogg Classifieds Sell & Buy 0 04-07-2005 01:44 PM
Ecu emericadna7 3-Series (E21, E30) 3 01-04-2005 05:05 PM
Ecu's???? Rizzo-83-320i 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 11-30-2004 02:31 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome