BMW Werkz banner

timing belt change and mechanics in miami

3K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  DJProfessor 
#1 ·
i just got a 87 325e and I would like to know if anyone here recommends a good mechanic from the miami area. i would like to change the timing belt and water pump give the valves an adjustment and change all the fluids.

just the water pump and timing belt i got an estimate for 400 dollars from a independent shop. i need something cheaper than that. i am not a mechanic but i can change light bulbs and change a battery. is changing the timing belt easy for a light diyer?

also my air conditioner is starting to blow cold and it is the old r12. do you think it is worth changing it t r134 or adding more r12. they both cost the same.90 bucks. or if anybody is willing to change my timing belt and water pump i could pay them for it.

#2 ·
For the timing belt change, if you are a light DIY'er, I think it is just on the verge of your level of comfort. http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/techarticles/JF-Tech/BMW_E30_3_Series_Timing_belt_change.htm

Take a look at that article, and see for yourself if you want to undertake it.
As for recharging your system... R12 is the SAME PRICE as R134 in FLA??????
It is like $90 per pound or more up her in Atlanta, but an r134 recharge kit with 3 or 4 pounds is like $50! If you can get r12 cheap, I say just recharge the system with r12, since the 134 conversion takes time and MONEY!

Josh

#3 ·
if you don't want to spend the $400 for the shop to do it, might want to think twice about doing it yourself, as if you do it incorrectly it could end up costing you like three times that to fix what you bent/broke.....just some food for thought. personally i think a timing belt is over a "first timer's" head.