Tach Still Not Working - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2005, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olympia, WA USA
Car:
Posts: 72
Photos:
yamaha405 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to yamaha405 Send a message via MSN to yamaha405 Send a message via Yahoo to yamaha405
I dont know what all has to do with the tach, but mine still isnt working. what all should i check to get it working. any help would be great, thanks. Chris---
yamaha405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2005, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
tyro2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MASS
Car:
Posts: 283
Photos:
tyro2001 is an unknown quantity at this point
try giving the dashboard a few wacks, i know when my spedometer stops working i just give a good ol smack on his head its all set.
tyro2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
350z
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Car: 03 Nissan 350z Track
Posts: 4,932
Photos:
bigred318 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bigred318 Send a message via Yahoo to bigred318
when mine stopped working it was becuase of a fuse... i beleive (atleast on the e36 there are 3 fuses that control your tach speedo gas guage etc...) look in the manual for which #s they are.... but take them out and replace which ever one is out.. should do the trick... might as well replace all 3 (they might not appear to be blown (mine didnt so i replaced all 3 and waa bam my tach worked again)

The other thing the chord could have came undone in the back of your guage cluster... and that just sucks

David
__________________
**BAKER POW REPORT**
bigred318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olympia, WA USA
Car:
Posts: 72
Photos:
yamaha405 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to yamaha405 Send a message via MSN to yamaha405 Send a message via Yahoo to yamaha405
so if the cord came undone, do i jstu take the cluster out and plug it back in or what? in the back of my cluster, there are two main harnesses, and one one-wire connector that plugs into the back. is there supposed to be more? the guy who had it before has done a lot of wirng stuff so i never know if it is correct or not. Thanks, Chris---
yamaha405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Car:
Posts: 4
Photos:
tympboy is an unknown quantity at this point
i dont think any e36 tachs r cord drivin......all electronic, i think they all were after like 87.
tympboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Kowalski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada, British Columbia, White rock
Car:
Posts: 752
Photos:
Kowalski is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Kowalski
Quote:
Originally posted by tympboy@Feb 14 2005, 08:54 AM
i dont think any e36 tachs r cord drivin......all electronic, i think they all were after like 87.
[snapback]291684[/snapback]
in order to have it electronic there has to be wires, and by cord i think he meant wires, there is a plug in the back of them and it prolly came undone is this what you meant?
__________________
M42 Custom ground cams for sale PM me
264* roatation and 388 lift
Kowalski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: jacksonville beach
Car:
Posts: 577
Photos:
e30fanm3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to e30fanm3 Send a message via Yahoo to e30fanm3
you SI board may be going bad. the tach and the temp gauge are the most common indicators that your SI board may take a shit
e30fanm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olympia, WA USA
Car:
Posts: 72
Photos:
yamaha405 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to yamaha405 Send a message via MSN to yamaha405 Send a message via Yahoo to yamaha405
well, my temp gauge still works. actually, everything still works except for the da gone mpg and tach. i replaced both the fuses and still nothing.
yamaha405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 03:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: jacksonville beach
Car:
Posts: 577
Photos:
e30fanm3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to e30fanm3 Send a message via Yahoo to e30fanm3
like i said you need an SI board
e30fanm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spedometer & Odometer Intermittently quit working osestrada 3-Series (E36) 2 10-13-2005 12:17 PM
Tach Problem With E28 islandbimmer 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 0 11-25-2004 07:53 PM
325 TACH & TEMP NOT WORKING HELP PLZ!!!!!! nite53 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 08-06-2004 08:35 PM
tach, cd player, computer not working IrishBimmer 3-Series (E21, E30) 7 08-05-2004 05:52 PM
2003 540i, Sound Not working.. youngceo Audio and Electronics 4 06-03-2004 05:20 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.