Removing Aftermarket AC from an E21 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-03-2004, 10:15 AM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
meestapeta is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey everyone, I'm new to the forums and I'm new to the world of BMW ownership. I recently got an E21 BMW 320i (4 cyl). I love the car, but a previous owner put in an aftermarket air conditioning system that no longer works, so now it's just adding weight and sapping horsepower. So I set upon removing it yesterday, but it turns out that's not the easiest job around. I got the grille heat exchanger and the expansion valve/canister out, soon the condenser in the dash and the compressor will be out too. But I just wanted to make sure I'm doing it right here, so I've got a question for the E21 establishment:

- Do E21s originally have two fans in the grill, one running off of the motor and a second electric one in front of the radiator? I think the electric fan is specific to the AC, but I'm not sure and I don't want to just throw it out.

I used to have to switch it on if the engine got too warm from idling, but I think without the heat exchanger in the way of the radiator that problem will be solved too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 09-03-2004, 08:42 PM
5th Gear Member