No Spark, help get me get it running. - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-20-2011, 06:03 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rebar is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Arrow No Spark, help get me get it running.

Okay, I am new to the BMW world and new to the forums.

One of my friends have a 1986 BMW 325 and I took it out for a ride and it was love and first drive. After a few months of looking I found one that had been parked for 5-6 years. The timing belt broke and bent two valves. It was a steal since I got it for free just had to fix the guys truck's wiring issues.

Well, on to the issue. I have torn it down and rebuilt it from the block out/up.
After getting the engine back together I sat down prayed and turned the key. It just turned over with out cranking. A few not so nice words later, I started checking to see if I had fuel to the injectors, Yeah. Checked to see if I had spark, nope. I replaced the wires, still nothing. I replaced the Ignition Coil, got some spark, but it is not steady and now I am getting nothing again. I had already checked the relays. I am getting 12v to the coil.

I got it to run once, but I do not have the radiator in for a little more room. So I turned it off. It ran for a good 3-4 min, bother-in-law came over and said hey crank it up I want to hear her. Nothing just the same old turning over.