New to the BMW world - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-15-2009, 08:30 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
royalnite42 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
New to the BMW world

Well I got a 1984' 318i today for $1000 from a gentleman in Murfreesboro, TN and I'm really new to the car world, I'm used to driving Jeep Cherokee's. Well here we go with the body and engine, The paint is in great condition minus a spot on the hood, a spot on the driver door are slightly pealing and there are a few spots on the front where seems like rocks have hit the car. The driver side window won't roll down and I was told it was just the switch, I need to get a cover for the passenger side door handle on the inside.The leather seats are hard but I figure I'd hit it with some armor all and they should soften up. There isn't much of any rust at all on the frame, the brakes are fine minus the fact that my foot almost hits the floor board when I break but I'm guessing it just needs the brake fluid changed. Moonroof doesn't leak nor do the windows. The engine is in pretty good shape and well as the 5spd transmission...Shifts smooth. I'm curious about one thing though, the engine seems to idle high at 2000 rpm's but goes down slightly when I'm driving around after a few minuets, is that normal?

I'll have pictures posted soon in the next few days, so please fill me in, I'm really willing to learn all I can about this cars...

Cheers!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 09-16-2009, 01:45 PM
n00b

prosavage2600 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to prosavage2600