Keyless Remote Help Needed Please.. - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 05:01 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hi,

I just purchased a '95 325i. Love it btw. I bought a keyless remote for the car from "keyless ride". The directions seem easy enough. Seems I have to find a control module that is behind the glove box, to plug a chip into. After I pulled the box, there was no control module. After I called for tech help, he decides that it may be under the instrument gauges under the left dash, or under the driver seat. I couldn't find it there either. I'm a pretty big guy, it is absolutely no fun layin upside down under the dash of this car. If anyone knows where this invisible module is, please let me know.....a diagram would be nice.

superglide09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 05:30 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Well damn, I put this post in the wrong section....Would move it if I knew how.....
superglide09 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 05:33 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
erikgolson is an unknown quantity at this point
What's the chip for?
erikgolson is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 05:38 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
It has something to do with programing the new remote. This chip fits into this module, you press a small button that is on this module, and that is pretty much it....so say the directions......
superglide09 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 05:52 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
erikgolson is an unknown quantity at this point
That's weird. Mine didn't have any plug-ins like that. I had constant power, a ground, an ignition 1, an ignition 2, starter wire, on-off switch, led light, hood pin switch, brake shut off wire, tach input wire, headlight wire, horn wire, and the door input wires. Everything is hard wired. I'd call tech support and see if there is another way to initialize your remote, or spend the money to have someone do it that knows more than us.
erikgolson is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 06:06 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Talked to the tech guy again. He said he had helped many 325i owners with this, and that 99% of the modules were behind the glove box......somewhere. I'll look again. This module he describes, has a cover on the bottom of it that is removable, and there is a place there to put this chip. Then you put your key in the ignition, turn to the 'on' position and press the programing button next to the chip. Sounds easy, if I can find this sucker.......
superglide09 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 04-01-2005, 06:07 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
erikgolson is an unknown quantity at this point
Good luck! Initializing mine took longer than the install!!!!!
erikgolson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Curious If I Can Put Keyless Entry And Remote .... Cloxe 3-Series (E36) 6 01-20-2005 02:12 PM
Two part numbers for same keyless remote? frank3 3-Series (E36) 3 10-31-2004 06:44 PM
keyless remote Eraj 3-Series (E36) 3 07-21-2004 04:52 PM
my stock Alarm, i lost hte Keyless remote WickedBimmer 3-Series (E36) 3 02-04-2004 06:55 PM
KEYLESS ENTRY REMOTE PROBLEM.... torrienta 3-Series (E36) 2 01-02-2004 10:24 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome