Electric Window regulator for my E30 318i is jammed open. - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-25-2012, 02:53 AM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rapidfalcon is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Question Electric Window regulator for my E30 318i is jammed open.

I would really appreciate some advice on this matter, as I am a bit stuck.
I am no mechanic, or electrician, but I have dismantled windows before, for spares, but this is the first time fitting a new window.

I rather stupidly locked the drivers door so nobody drove off in my car, passenger door being close to a wall, enough for me to squeeze in, (it turned out, all the doors locked, not just the drivers door) with the engine running yesterday, as I had fitted a new exhaust and thought I'd run the engine for 30 mins, hopefully sealing any tiny gaps with carbon prior to the emissions test for the MOT the next morning.

I had to resort to smashing my passenger window as I had a spare one in my shed (and I didn't want to damage the door with wedges and wire, didn't have any anyhow, to try to prize the lock open,) also the petrol was getting low and it was dark. I will NOW get a spare key cut, lol.

Long story short, new window ready to go in, I pressed the window switch to bring down the regulator wheels, meaning to stop at the access holes in the door, but I went to far, infact, I went to the bottom. It will not come back up now.

I have just had my clutch replaced, (by a mate, who's gone back home now, hundreds of miles away,) and with the gear stick removed, etc, maybe the switch has clutch dust in it, with the gaping hole.