e30 unique no-start - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-09-2009, 11:38 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
polska is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
e30 unique no-start

I guess every no-start issue is unique, but it's unique in the sense that it's my car, at least. It is a 1988 325is

Bear with me, I'm new to e30s and bmw in general, even though this might be something that would apply to any car. I bought the car in June for 150 dollars. At first, it started with a new battery, albeit with a really rough idle.

This is what I changed over the summer: fuel filter, fuel lines, fuel pressure regulator, sent injectors away for refurbishing, 02 sensor, spark plugs, distributor cap and rotor, air hoses, coolant hoses, air filter (a squirrel had left his stash of nuts inside) timing - alternator - ac belt - power steering belts, tensioner, water-pump. I gave the car fresh gasoline.

I went to go turn it over after all this, and the car would crank clean but with no start. I've determined that the car does have spark. I couldn't get the car to pull any codes, so I checked the idle-control sensor which tested out with the proper resistance.

I didn't hear a fuel pump when going to start, so I thought it would be that. But when I jumped it with a small wire stuck where the relay goes, I could hear it functioning fine. I tried to start the car while a friend was holding the wire to jump the pump, and still no start.