Does this really work? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-07-2005, 01:29 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Gabrielpr12 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Gabrielpr12 Send a message via Yahoo to Gabrielpr12
(Thread Starter)
Does this really work?

I was looking on eBay and found this performance chip.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/90-91...QQcmdZViewItem

Does anybody knows if this really works?

BMW newbie.
Gabrielpr12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 10-07-2005, 02:44 PM
77th Gear Member
 
325eXTATIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: See at ell! aka HOME!
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
325eXTATIC is a glorious beacon of light 325eXTATIC is a glorious beacon of light 325eXTATIC is a glorious beacon of light 325eXTATIC is a glorious beacon of light 325eXTATIC is a glorious beacon of light
Hey, there are any number of chip manufacturers out there, and they all claim roughly the same gains, and quite a few people on the BMW forums I read have used an "Ebay Special" ecu. I have a Dinan (dinanbmw.com) chip in my car (came with it already installed when I bought it) another one is Mark D I think... (http://www.dsylva-tech.ca/)
both of them come highly recommended, although as I said, several people have Ebay chips and have had no problems!

Hope this helps!

Josh W.

Not currently on the Bimmer kick. Drivin' a 2003 Silver Civic at the moment, but I am STILL the Founding Member of the "325eXTATIC You're my hero" club.
Quote:
Originally Posted by <b>superdeadman</b><br>Josh W. IS my hero!

Originally Posted by <b>JoeMadoo</b><br>325eXTATIC, you're my hero...
Originally Posted by <b>Moosepuck</b><br>Oh yeah... 325eXTATIC...you're my hero...
Originally Posted by <b>e30dream</b><br>325eXTATIC....youre my hero.
325eXTATIC is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 10-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: city of sin
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
driftin325s is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to driftin325s
i will tell u that there is a difference with the chip i bought my dinan performance chip off of ebay but it will not give a 30 hp boost maybe like 10 to 15 but u can feel a big difference

<a href="http://www.royal-flushapparel.com" border=0><img src="http://www.royal-flushapparel.com/images/banner-lg.gif" /></a>
driftin325s is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 10-09-2005, 11:37 PM
5th Gear Member
 
BMWJNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to BMWJNKY Send a message via Yahoo to BMWJNKY
If you have an "i" engine the most out of any chip I have seen is 15hp. But if you have an "e" you will get almost 30hp. As long as the copy is as good as the orginal chip you won't have any issues.
BMWJNKY is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 10-10-2005, 12:21 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Charleston Chu is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Charleston Chu
I bought one of those chips for my 1989 325ix. Definitely not 30HP... maybe 15 or 20 HP... anyways, one thing I did notice is that the rev limit was increased and the fuel ecnomy got worse... but that probably because I have an Intake and exhaust upgrade and the chip isn't designed for that... questionable gains... but worth the $40US that I paid!

Chuck
Charleston Chu is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 10-10-2005, 12:40 AM
5th Gear Member
 
BMWJNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute BMWJNKY has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to BMWJNKY Send a message via Yahoo to BMWJNKY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charleston Chu
I bought one of those chips for my 1989 325ix. Definitely not 30HP... maybe 15 or 20 HP... anyways, one thing I did notice is that the rev limit was increased and the fuel ecnomy got worse... but that probably because I have an Intake and exhaust upgrade and the chip isn't designed for that... questionable gains... but worth the $40US that I paid!

Chuck
Like I said in my other post, you will not get 30hp out of any chip on an "i" engine. Chances are you are getting worse gas milage cause you are driving your car harder than before the chip.
BMWJNKY is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 10-10-2005, 12:44 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Charleston Chu is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Charleston Chu
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ's320i
Like I said in my other post, you will not get 30hp out of any chip on an "i" engine. Chances are you are getting worse gas milage cause you are driving your car harder than before the chip.
THAT... is quite true...

Chuck
Charleston Chu is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 10-10-2005, 01:50 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hamfisted is on a distinguished road
They're Ok...

As long as you get the one for your model and not the wrong chip, they're Ok. Its worth $40 just to get rid of the speed and rev limiter anyway.





Mike
Hamfisted is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2005, 11:31 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Charleston Chu is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Charleston Chu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamfisted
As long as you get the one for your model and not the wrong chip, they're Ok. Its worth $40 just to get rid of the speed and rev limiter anyway.


Mike

He's got a good point there... make sure you get the one that matches the number on your ECU. The wrong one could really mess up your engine managment.

Preston
Charleston Chu is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 10-15-2005, 03:46 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Des Plaines, Illinois
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Enthuziast is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Enthuziast Send a message via MSN to Enthuziast Send a message via Yahoo to Enthuziast
I might be mistaken, but I have read this somewhere in the past. Isn't soldering required for installs of these so called performance chips. Although they do seem to work, I haven't seen any kind of posts in any of my forums that have talked about this. So all together I don't much know. Fill me in on these please, and thank you.
Enthuziast is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 02:01 PM
1st Gear Member
 
tyro2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MASS
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
tyro2001 is an unknown quantity at this point
you just swap it from the stock chip, kinda like plug and play. just be carefull not to break any pins
tyro2001 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 08:05 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fuggly is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Fuggly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enthuziast
I might be mistaken, but I have read this somewhere in the past. Isn't soldering required for installs of these so called performance chips. Although they do seem to work, I haven't seen any kind of posts in any of my forums that have talked about this. So all together I don't much know. Fill me in on these please, and thank you.
I believe that is only for the 84 325e. I'm sure you could swap out the motronic from the 85-87 if thats the case.
Fuggly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headlight problem: City lights don't work (low and high beam do) KILOCHARLIE 3-Series (E36) 4 09-21-2005 01:33 AM
Side lights don't work (dipped and full beam do) - please help!! KILOCHARLIE 3-Series (E36) 5 09-17-2005 01:35 PM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM
2004 330i Zhp Problems And Bmws Poor Response lancia 3-Series (E46, E90) 5 10-13-2004 11:41 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome