Bosch Motronic 3.3??? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 02:56 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Bosch Motronic 3.3???

Hi all,

Do I have a Bosch Motronic 3.3 ECU?

Number found on unit is: 0 261 200 073

Unit is my 1986 325i E30 Coupe - Right hand drive
PORTNOY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 08:27 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
Hi all,

Do I have a Bosch Motronic 3.3 ECU?

Number found on unit is: 0 261 200 073

Unit is my 1986 325i E30 Coupe - Right hand drive
...more like Motronic, Motronic 1.1 or 1.3
darkhorse737 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 02:33 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
...more like Motronic, Motronic 1.1 or 1.3

You're actually wrong on this one Darkhorse.

Google search the number and you will see....
PORTNOY is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 06:57 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
^^ Why do you ask questions for which you already know the answers? And if you googled after posting the thread, why did you do that? Google is always first, then search function within the forum, then posting new threads

Anyhow, yup, it seems you have a Bosch Motronic ML3.3 according to this site at least: BMW fuel parts available from ATP

drz is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 07:08 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz View Post
^^ Why do you ask questions for which you already know the answers? And if you googled after posting the thread, why did you do that? Google is always first, then search function within the forum, then posting new threads

Anyhow, yup, it seems you have a Bosch Motronic ML3.3 according to this site at least: BMW fuel parts available from ATP

Is there a more common ECU available that is a direct swap & that has a few options in performance chips?

And my tacho redline is 6500 RPM
PORTNOY is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 09:54 PM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
I would try calling or e-mailing Turner MotorSports and ask them what they can do for you. They will know if their catalog chips work on your car, or maybe they have already made chips for others with your same ECU.

drz is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 08-29-2008, 11:43 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz View Post
I would try calling or e-mailing Turner MotorSports and ask them what they can do for you. They will know if their catalog chips work on your car, or maybe they have already made chips for others with your same ECU.

Turner motorsport have nothing available at all....
PORTNOY is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 08-30-2008, 02:35 AM
drz
Administrator
 
drz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tee Ex
Posts: 12,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute drz has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drz Send a message via MSN to drz
Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
Turner motorsport have nothing available at all....
I don't mean to be a jerk, but I want to double-check: did you call them or email them, or did you just check their website? If you haven't called them directly, you still don't know what they can do for you. Maybe they don't have anything available, but it is worth checking in my opinion. If you already contacted them directly, please disregard this entire post.

drz is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 08-30-2008, 09:59 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Wink

READ and learn ;-)

Application Guide | BMW
darkhorse737 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2008, 08:26 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz View Post
I don't mean to be a jerk, but I want to double-check: did you call them or email them, or did you just check their website? If you haven't called them directly, you still don't know what they can do for you. Maybe they don't have anything available, but it is worth checking in my opinion. If you already contacted them directly, please disregard this entire post.
Emailed them and they looked into it, and even double checked.
They have nothing available
I suppose I won't get much more performance anyway, the car pulls and revs real nice up 6500 RPM. I'd only probably get another 500 RPM wouldn't I?
PORTNOY is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 08-30-2008, 08:39 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auckland N.Z
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PORTNOY is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkhorse737 View Post
READ and learn ;-)

Application Guide | BMW

Thanks horse but now I'm confused.
Why is it when I google search my DME number it tells me it's a Motronic ML3.3, yet the application guide that you gave me tells me I have either a 1.1 or 1.3
PORTNOY is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 09-03-2008, 12:25 AM
5th Gear Member
 
darkhorse737's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
darkhorse737 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PORTNOY View Post
Thanks horse but now I'm confused.
Why is it when I google search my DME number it tells me it's a Motronic ML3.3, yet the application guide that you gave me tells me I have either a 1.1 or 1.3
call your local dealer and give them your VIN - they should be able to tell you exactly what you have. They dont charge for that service
darkhorse737 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 3-Series (E21, E30)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spark Plug Replacement? Bosch Platinum Plus or Bosch Super? Delmarco 3-Series (E36) 9 05-03-2008 01:23 PM
Motronic in 535i corncob512 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 04-22-2008 11:54 AM
Motronic emericadna7 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 03-19-2005 07:55 AM
83 to 82 motronic replacement... networknine 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 01-05-2004 09:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome