BMW Werkz banner

'89 325i Hard Start

11K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  e30fanm3 
#1 ·
Ok this is my first time putting something up here. I have an 1989 325i 2dr with 38,000 miles. Yeah you heard it right 38,000 miles.

Since it wasn't driven much I had the dealer check it out...to date I have spent about 6000 on stuff. Everything from air conditioner retro fit to all new beelts etc etc...everything has worked great except my car HARD STARTS like its JOB. I have to hold it down until it finally turns over...

Vista BMW the largest BMW dealer on the planet did this...

replaced the fuel pump and coolent temp sensor

still did it even when i got the car back...

so then

Hooked up the GT1 tester. Interrogated fault code memory of DME control unit. No fault codes stored. Checked status of crankshaft senor while cranking. Removed cap and rotor and inspected for damage/cracks. no cracks found. Cleaned all electrical contacts for cap and rotor. Started when cold several times. Engine intermittenly having a long crank time (NOW ITS REALLY LONG and ALL THE TIME) Removed and cleaned the idle valve. Found engine to start up quick then die immeadately. Restarted again..and engine idle hunting...replaced idle valve. fuel pressure at 40 psi...

Now...these guys called BMW NA and they said it would take up to 10 secs to start this bad boy...which is bull shit...they put some relay in they said and it have just been getting worse...WHAT DO I DO?

this car is perfect exept for this

please email me

joshgarson@hotmail.com

thanks guys

also...if i want to make this baby faster and better handling...what is the best way to do it...i want to use all german components

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Originally posted by 1989BMW325i@Feb 24 2005, 10:25 PM
Ok this is my first time putting something up here. I have an 1989 325i 2dr with 38,000 miles. Yeah you heard it right 38,000 miles.