'89 325i Hard Start - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
3-Series (E21, E30) Chat relating to the BMW 3-Series from 1975-1983 and 1984-1991 line. Specific models: BMW 315, BMW 316, BMW 318, BMW 318i, BMW 320/4, BMW 320i, BMW 320/6, BMW 323i, BMW 320i. E30 Family models include: BMW 325e, BMW 325i, BMW 325is, BMW 325ix.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-24-2005, 11:25 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1989BMW325i is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok this is my first time putting something up here. I have an 1989 325i 2dr with 38,000 miles. Yeah you heard it right 38,000 miles.

Since it wasn't driven much I had the dealer check it out...to date I have spent about 6000 on stuff. Everything from air conditioner retro fit to all new beelts etc etc...everything has worked great except my car HARD STARTS like its JOB. I have to hold it down until it finally turns over...

Vista BMW the largest BMW dealer on the planet did this...

replaced the fuel pump and coolent temp sensor

still did it even when i got the car back...

so then

Hooked up the GT1 tester. Interrogated fault code memory of DME control unit. No fault codes stored. Checked status of crankshaft senor while cranking. Removed cap and rotor and inspected for damage/cracks. no cracks found. Cleaned all electrical contacts for cap and rotor. Started when cold several times. Engine intermittenly having a long crank time (NOW ITS REALLY LONG and ALL THE TIME) Removed and cleaned the idle valve. Found engine to start up quick then die immeadately. Restarted again..and engine idle hunting...replaced idle valve. fuel pressure at 40 psi...

Now...these guys called BMW NA and they said it would take up to 10 secs to start this bad boy...which is bull shit...they put some relay in they said and it have just been getting worse...WHAT DO I DO?

this car is perfect exept for this

please email me

joshgarson@hotmail.com

thanks guys