BMW Werkz banner

Convertible Top Re-engagement

3K views 16 replies 4 participants last post by  jamesyboyz 
#1 ·
I was messing around under my back seat and pulled that little evil lever that changes my convertable top from electric to manual. It wasn't until after the fact that I read in the manual "to reengage take to the dealer". I doubt, or I hope there is another way to engage it considering I'm a student without much money (and don't want to get ripped off by dealer charges).

Does anybody out there know how to re-engage an automatic convertable top after pulling the lever which makes it manual?

ANY help is appreciated, thank you in advance for your responce.

#2 ·
I will check in my Bentley tonight...or...if anyone has one accessible??? :dunno

#4 ·
Originally posted by DoTheDew@Nov 30 2004, 08:13 PM
The motor is in the trunk Go back there and give it a good push make sure it clicks in, I think there is a pin you haft to pull as well.
[snapback]240842[/snapback]​
Thanks, I went to try that and realized the lid that covers the convertable top is misaligned, causing the trunk to be unopenable. Do you have any suggestions on how to realign the lid?

#6 ·
Damn....I'm sorry...I forgot to look last night...Had to put up the goddamn Christmas Tree...

I'll look tonight....

#7 ·
Originally posted by RIBEMR26@Dec 1 2004, 03:58 PM
Damn....I'm sorry...I forgot to look last night...Had to put up the goddamn Christmas Tree...

I'll look tonight....
[snapback]241474[/snapback]​
Haha, thanks. my problem now is I can't get the trunk open, so look for that if you can. I have a Haynes book, but it doesn't even mention convertables.

#8 ·
Originally posted by epheterson+Dec 1 2004, 04:15 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(epheterson @ Dec 1 2004, 04:15 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-RIBEMR26@Dec 1 2004, 03:58 PM

I'll look tonight....
[snapback]241474[/snapback]​