BMW Werkz banner

Advanced Driving School

2K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  thekid 
#1 ·
I've been driving since 16. I've had a lot of experience, both city and suburban. Now, my wife has never learned to drive (city girl). She will be getting her permit soon. She's old for a new driver - 36.

Now, once she completes the simple driving school (the "this is the break, this is the gas" school), I'd like to get her to a better driving school - one which really teaches her to know the car, know its limits and capabilities, and to know and react to the the [quite obvious] limitations of other drivers.

I don't want her to be afraid or timid about the car or driving - I want her to drive with confidence.

(side note - there's nothing which bugs me more than watching people parallel park, shying away from a cut-in where there is 2 feet of space between a bumper and another car. I can't believe these people don't know _exactly_ where their bumpers are).

Any suggestions on a decent school to teach her things like this?

#2 ·
teach her yourself. it's probably the best you can get... you've been driving for 20+ years and you can give her unlimited number of lessons all for free.

and yes she will be very nervous when driving... i know some women in similar situations and they are scared to drive anywhere.

its funny when you see them doing like 35 in a 45 and then you zoom by at like 85 and they are like omg grab the steering wheel because he might blow me off due to turbulence or something.

good luck.

#4 ·
Originally posted by Torque@Nov 10 2004, 11:12 PM
teach her yourself. it's probably the best you can get... you've been driving for 20+ years and you can give her unlimited number of lessons all for free.
Actually, 11 years - I'm only 27 :D

You really think that it will work if I teach her?

and yes she will be very nervous when driving... i know some women in similar situations and they are scared to drive anywhere.