BMW Werkz banner

Question about the M3's tranny

2K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  dennisjai 
#1 ·
hey fellas im a newbie =] can someone elaborate on the differences between a MANUAL Tranny and a SMG Tranny (Sequential Manual Gearbox) for the BMW m3?

thanks

#2 ·
First off, welcome to the forums :welcome

The manual transmission has 6 gears plus reverse, and from what I hear its clutch is a little heavy, but the car is after all, high performance. The SMG tranny only has a reverse, neutral, and +/- gears. The +/- gear has 2 modes, Sequential and Automated. The sequential mode has 6 drivelogic programs which are different transmission programs that control shift speeds, ideal shift point, and so on. In this mode, you may use the lever or the paddles on the steering wheel to change gears. The right paddle upshifts, the left paddle downshifts. The automated mode has 5 drivelogic programs, which act the same way as the sequential program in that they both control shift speeds, and shift points, and so on. However in automated mode, the SMG system shifts the gears for you kinda like an automatic. The one big difference between the Steptronic Automatic Gearbox and the SMG, is that the Steptronic Transmission has a torque converter which "eats" horsepower" and does not have a true electronic clutch like the SMG system.

Which one is better you ask?? I'd go for the SMG because of the unbelievable fun you will have driving like an F1 driver, and because of its lightning fast shifts in Sequential Mode 6. The SMG also helps in stop and go traffic, because you can just pop the shifter into automated mode and the computer takes care of the rest. However if you want a stickshift and are not willing to fork over the extra 2,400 for the SMG option, then just get stick.

#3 ·
i see.. thanks for the very detailed apply although i got confused abit.. did u mean the AUTOMATED tranny that u dont have to do anything eats alot of horsepower?