BMW Werkz banner

best tires

1K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  jrothlis 
#1 ·
i am going to be getting the hamann hm3 rims 17x8.5 and i dont know anything about tires. oh and these will be going on a 96 328is-if that is needed info...

So what tires should i get on these rims.. i am a very spirited driver!

Thanks

#2 ·
I would recomend Bridgestone or Yokohama. Both of these tires provide sufficient ride quality and wet weather grip, but are rediculously good with regards to lateral grip, wear, and almost refuse to roll over on their sidewall. I have owned products from both of these companies (and about a half-dozen others), and would say $ for $ are the best available.

#5 ·
Get some Bridgestone G 009s. Grip good in the wet, on dry, pretty sticky. They brake nice and clean with no suprises through the corners. They're like 60 bucks a piece so a pretty decent price. Unless money is no object, then go for some S-03s from Bridgestone.

Kevin

#6 ·
I just walked into the parking garage after work and I had a slice in the sidewall of one of my bridgestones. Its only about a half inch long, but it was random. I have reason to believe it was caused by hitting coblestone or a rock or something in Philly where I work, but other than this stupid little problem, I drive like a maniac on them and they are great in all conditions. They are sticky as hell, lots of traction. I have Potenza's on my 15 in stock rims. I would definitely recommend them.

#7 ·
What model of potenzas? There's like 20 :p . Yeah mine are working excelent as well. The sidewall if fairly square so the contact patch if fairly large for a 215. Some tires curve the sidwalls a lot and it actually takes away from the contact patch.

Also, if you want cheap sticky decent tires Kuhmos Ecstas are also good for the cash.

Kevin

#9 ·