BMW Werkz banner

Extended Warranty for 2001 740iL

2K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  Bussman 
#1 ·
Hello,

first post from a complete newbie...have mercy please! After being inspired over the years by several ultimate driving experiences in Germany on business trips (most recently in a Z4..too bad they ran out of Opels..) I just made my first foray into the world of BMW ownership. Bought a 2001 740il with 77,000 miles. Everything seems to work, runs great, and I love the way it looks, handles and runs.

My question to the forum members, who for the most part have forgotten more BMW knowledge than I have: should I get an extended warranty? The local BMW dealer has quoted me $3200 for a 36/36 bumper to bumper warranty. Sure it seems like a lot of money, but I'm tempted to pony up for 3 years of (relative) piece of mind. I've read enough repair horror stories to be concerned. I was able to buy the car for a fair amount less than book value, so i could pay the $3200 and still have a good cost basis.

Any real-world experience on repair expenses for this vintage appreciated...I have a feeling it may inspire me to invest in the insurance.

Many thanks,

Bussman

See less See more
#3 ·
I really haven't done much work on my cars over the years...as a matter of fact almost none. I am willing to get my hands dirty on simple stuff in I can do in the driveway like replacing a battery, changing a fuse, checking fluids, jumpstarting, etc. but do not plan to do any substantial maintenance or repair work myself. I'm looking at the extended warranty as insurance to protect me against risk of a major , costly failure of engine, transmission, electrical system, or whatever maladies 2001 740's with 77K miles may be prone to.

Bussman

#4 ·