E38 Performance Exhaust question??? NEWBEEEEE.... - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper General Chat related to models that do not fit into particular categories above. Please try to put your discussion in more appropriate sections. This section does cover the 1 Series, MINI Cooper and 8-Series vehicles: BMW 830i, BMW 840Ci, BMW 850i, BMW 850Ci, BMW 850CSi, M8, Alpina B12, BMW CS Concept and others.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-19-2009, 04:50 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
lv2exl8 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Cool E38 Performance Exhaust question??? NEWBEEEEE....

I am pretty new to the BMW world as I have always been into Japanese cars, but after borrowing my moms E38 740il for couple of months, I fell in love with it!! so now I am going to purchase as clean of a 2001 740i as I can find and as with all my cars performance enhancement is my #1 priority.

Anyhow...... Exhaust will be on top of my list and after doing some research I noticed that I dont have as much chose on E38‘s with out spending a fortune, and most exhaust systems come only as excel back. What about rest of the piping, the resonators, the cat converters??? Can I rip out the resonator and run a straight through piping?? Would constructing thicker custom piping from headers back hurt the vehicle??? And if anyone knows, whats the ideal exhaust piping size to use in order to gain the most torque and hp on this engine???

THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 02-19-2009, 05:21 PM
I am Teh Edumacator.

Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of Teh Prof has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to Teh Prof