02 745i - To buy or not to buy? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper General Chat related to models that do not fit into particular categories above. Please try to put your discussion in more appropriate sections. This section does cover the 1 Series, MINI Cooper and 8-Series vehicles: BMW 830i, BMW 840Ci, BMW 850i, BMW 850Ci, BMW 850CSi, M8, Alpina B12, BMW CS Concept and others.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-18-2010, 05:51 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hacksaw is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
02 745i - To buy or not to buy?

Hello,

Beamer newbie here looking to purchase my first one. I've driven Chevy's fords and Jeeps my whole life.

I have the opportunity to buy a 745i for a smoking deal of a price. The problem is that the gentleman that owns it says he ran it through some water and it won't roll over anymore. My first assumption would by a hydraulic lock. He is selling the car not running.

I am very mechanically inclined but, once again, have no experience with BMW's. How difficult is swapping a motor if there is internal damage? I am assuming that pulling the motor it comes out through the top since it is a RWD car (like every truck and American sports car I have owned.)

How susceptible are these motors to internal damage to hydro-locking? I know in the old jeeps and trucks we would submerge them, pull the plugs crank it over and spray some WD-40 in the holes and we were good to go after an oil change.

The problem: I have no idea the tendencies of these cars. I have looked online and only found a few hydro-lock stories.

I have also read that the motors in these cars are quite expensive to replace compared to other BMW motors (looking at remans online they are ~6k.)

I have built many engines in the past, SBC, SBF, BBC BBF and varios inline 6 motors for jeeps, like I said I feel I am fairly well versed when it comes to turning wrenches.