01 740i " module is not responding!"-w/carsoft ,,help - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper General Chat related to models that do not fit into particular categories above. Please try to put your discussion in more appropriate sections. This section does cover the 1 Series, MINI Cooper and 8-Series vehicles: BMW 830i, BMW 840Ci, BMW 850i, BMW 850Ci, BMW 850CSi, M8, Alpina B12, BMW CS Concept and others.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
bosanci28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: rocklin,ca,usa
Car: 01 bmw 740i & 82 mb 380sec coup v8
Posts: 50
Photos:
bosanci28 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to bosanci28 Send a message via Skype™ to bosanci28
01 740i " module is not responding!"-w/carsoft ,,help

i need to reset my airbag light ,,and i have the bmw carsoft 6.5 interface and cables,and soft,

i have tryed yesterday,,conection is okay,,
on the interface i have power on,,data light is blinking,,
but when i click to diagnose the srs ,airbag,,
i get :: modules does not respond :: (diagnostic port ,under the hood only i use 20 pic round)

i also have checked some other under diagnose but i get the same error to all,,module does not respond""!

so if there is a connection with the car ,,it maybe a module that is out,,and thats why i cant go thru to none of the modules on the car?
,,i was reading somewhere something about data crash,, this maybe something that it maybe in the way also?

i hade few engine lights soon ,,and i have reset them with a obd2 scanner in the car plug and it was fine,,



i purchase the car damage,,and i have fixed,,the airbag was out,,so i have replaced the airbag with a good one
,,check all fuses
,,under the hood i found 2 fuses from the airbag and thei ok (43,45)

does anyone knows why do i get that error,,

i really appreciate for any advice,,

thanks
__________________
bosanci28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-23-2009, 06:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Car: E38 1997 728i Individual
Posts: 3,242
Photos:
marti5 is on a distinguished road
You have got a bad connection, are you using a usb connector from you laptop if so this is probably the reason as they are very unstable you really need RS232 port. Just another thing do you have the key turned to position II.
__________________
VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
bosanci28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: rocklin,ca,usa
Car: 01 bmw 740i & 82 mb 380sec coup v8
Posts: 50
Photos:
bosanci28 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to bosanci28 Send a message via Skype™ to bosanci28
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
You have got a bad connection, are you using a usb connector from you laptop if so this is probably the reason as they are very unstable you really need RS232 port. Just another thing do you have the key turned to position II.
the connection is ok,, and im using serial cable (no usb)
and i plug directly under hood at the 20 pin plug,,

key at position 2,,where all lights are on.

i have tested the cables ,,if i go in carsoft and change the settings port to nr 2 then a get a port com error ,,if i put back to port 1,and i click anything i will get the same error,,,,module does not respond,,

also im using a pc to car

thanks
__________________
bosanci28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Car: E38 1997 728i Individual
Posts: 3,242
Photos:
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Where did you get the software from, was it the one sent with the interface ?
__________________
VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
bosanci28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: rocklin,ca,usa
Car: 01 bmw 740i & 82 mb 380sec coup v8
Posts: 50
Photos:
bosanci28 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to bosanci28 Send a message via Skype™ to bosanci28
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
Where did you get the software from, was it the one sent with the interface ?
the interface i have purchase without software,,

the soft i got it from some one on the other forum,,bimmmer..

but it runs ,, no errors ,,when i acces the car and i push anything,,or the srs diagnose,,i notice that the data lead on the interface is blinking,,so that means is working...

thanks
__________________
bosanci28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Car: E38 1997 728i Individual
Posts: 3,242
Photos:
marti5 is on a distinguished road
do you have the 16 pin lead ? as well as the 20 pin ?
__________________
VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
bosanci28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: rocklin,ca,usa
Car: 01 bmw 740i & 82 mb 380sec coup v8
Posts: 50
Photos:
bosanci28 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to bosanci28 Send a message via Skype™ to bosanci28
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
do you have the 16 pin lead ? as well as the 20 pin ?
yap i have a plug obd2 in the car and the 20 pin under the hood,,
but the interface come it only the 20 pin plug for under the hood.
from here
__________________
bosanci28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Car: E38 1997 728i Individual
Posts: 3,242
Photos:
marti5 is on a distinguished road
Damn!!, normally when they dont work in the 20 they work in the 16, sorry my friend I am unable to help you anymore, as I know from old that the facelift model does do this sometimes, try and get hold of a 16 pin, try Ebay.
__________________
VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
bosanci28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: rocklin,ca,usa
Car: 01 bmw 740i & 82 mb 380sec coup v8
Posts: 50
Photos:
bosanci28 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to bosanci28 Send a message via Skype™ to bosanci28
Quote:
Originally Posted by marti5 View Post
Damn!!, normally when they dont work in the 20 they work in the 16, sorry my friend I am unable to help you anymore, as I know from old that the facelift model does do this sometimes, try and get hold of a 16 pin, try Ebay.
thanks friend!!
__________________
bosanci28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 06:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Help from over the pond
 
marti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IPSWICH. U.K.
Car: E38 1997 728i Individual
Posts: 3,242
Photos:
marti5 is on a distinguished road
I have read carsoft doesnt work with Windows 98, what you running on ?
__________________
VELVET BLUE UK INDIVIDUAL , IM THE LAST
UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL

I stepped in a plate of Pasta the other day - now I have to worry about my Carbonara footprint!
marti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 11:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
bosanci28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: rocklin,ca,usa
Car: 01 bmw 740i & 82 mb 380sec coup v8
Posts: 50
Photos:
bosanci28 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to bosanci28 Send a message via Skype™ to bosanci28
win xp,,carsoft runs fine,
i have order that cable from the interface to obd2 in the car,,,to see if it works
__________________
bosanci28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2001 740i Sport "check engine soon" Chris Kethan 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 3 11-03-2008 02:26 PM
""*:.-::-* 2001 330Ci MUST SELL ~ GREAT COND. $15000 ""*:.-::-* bmwchic Cars For Sale 0 08-19-2008 01:36 PM
"key in ignition?" & "Lights On?" indicator DonMatmon 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 12-01-2006 09:47 AM
1993 740i Motor "tick" While Idleing? robob69 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 2 10-07-2004 12:56 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.